We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location at reasonable price”
Review of Sebastopol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sebastopol Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sebastopol
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Someone has taken an older motel and upgraded it with nice touches. The rooms are lovely. Ours had a balcony that overlooked the rear of the property and was well worth the extra cost. The location is delightful. You can easily walk into the main part of downtown and across the street is the newer part of Sebastopol with great restaurants like Zazu and many wine shopsand a wonderful upscale organic market. We loved the coffee shop and the vegan restaurant right nearby plus a wine shop. When we arrived there was music in the center with the railroad cars and that was a perfect welcome. The only thing that really bothered me ( so much so that I was tempted to ask for a hose to water) was the neglect of the landscaping. All the potted plants were dying and nothing seemed attended to in the garden in general. With so little effort and so little cost, they could scatter around a bunch of pretty plants and tend the patio area and upgrade this place even more. It really needs that attention as it is pretty basic looking as a motel. Wish so much the owners could be nagged into that.

Room Tip: Opt for the balcony but none of the rooms are bad, just pretty basic and plain,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel on The mainroad in The City of Sebastopol, Close to all wineshops, restaurants etc.. with a Good swimmingpool. Nice breakfast at lovely café nextdoor. Hotel with Good Price. Small reception with not a lot of service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family including twin 4 years olds just spent 4th of July weekend at this hotel. We were attracted by the reasonable rates with a little apprehension over what we might find once we got there.

The staff was lovely and helpful. The room wasn't exactly 2014 modern but it wasn't 1980 either. Just clean and functional with basic cable and a mini frig. The pool area was clean and everything including the hot tub worked fine. The hotel is right on a great bike path that goes 7 miles in each direction and there's even a bike rental shop less that 100 yards away.

There's a nice coffee shop on the same lot and an upscale grocery store across the street and downtown Sebastopol eateries, bars and amenities are an easy 3 block walk away.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stopped in Sebastopol last minute when travelling with family and we chose the Sebastopol Inn on a whim. Luckily it was a great find. We had a lovely welcome and were given a great room for a very fair price by a very friendly and informed owner. The whole place was immaculately clean and tidy. All the staff were so friendly and helpful we felt really welcome. We were recommended a great place to eat, and to work up an appetite an amazing trail through a redwood forest just out of town. A walk we never would have found ourselves and some of the most beautify countryside i have ever seen. We had a great sleep and a really friendly send off the next day. A pleasure all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle2014525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
411
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay in the Sebastopol Inn. The room decor was a bit generic, but the beds were very comfortable and wide, and the room itself was clean and well-maintained. Staff was very friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Pool at the back was a nice addition, clean cool water, what better way to finish a long day of tasting the amazing Sonoma wines. The hotel is located close to all local amenities, such as whole foods, and some nice bars. Would recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Inn is located near downtown Sebastopol and The Barlow, both locations have good restaurants, wine-tasting and fun shops to browse. The Inn is set back from the street - we found it to be quiet and comfortable. The Joe Rodota bike trail is near for a pleasant cycle or walk back toward Santa Rosa. The owner, who checked us in and out, was welcoming, gracious and professional - and, based on some earlier reviews, I admit feeling a bit wary. Our king room was on the upper level, overlooking the oaks and willows which border the Rodota Trail - our balcony was a perfect place to lounge. The Keurig coffee maker was convenient and made a pretty good cup of coffee. Coffee Catz, adjacent the hotel was a great stop for more coffee and a breakfast sandwich. The property and landscaping are clean and well-maintained - a bit of a railroad theme, really just charming. No chance to use the pool yet - too chilly - but the pool area looks quite appealing. A great spot!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The room was one of those undistinguishable generic motel rooms: two queen beds, a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, ironing board and iron and some packets of coffee as amenities. It seemed quite clean. But I should note that my husband, who is quite accepting of whatever environment he happens to be in, said, "they should really do more with this room." That's saying a lot. He probably meant that it was absolutely "plain Jane" when it comes to decor.

The plus side is that outside there is a sweet little courtyard with fountain and covered arbor with two wooden swings suitable for a couple to sit on and take in the evening air or morning sun. There's a pool, too and and nice yard in back. The Inn is behind of a very interesting complex of a coffee bar, travel agency and wonderful vegetarian place called Lydia's which has amazingly delicious food in spite of its being fantastically healthy. The excellent movie theater is a short and pleasant stroll from here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosabluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastopol
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
709 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
3.9 mi away
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Sebastopol
15 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 24 in Santa Rosa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastopol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastopol Inn

Address: 6751 Sebastopol Ave, Sebastopol, CA 95472-3829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sebastopol
Price Range: $143 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sebastopol Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastopol Inn, in Sonoma's Wine country, is the ideal accommodation not only for the romantic wine country getaway, but also for a family vacation. With wine touring, Russian River canoeing and kayaking, hiking, biking, and superb antiquing at your doorstep, this inn, tucked behind the historic Gravenstein train station, offers a central location to explore all that is wine country in Sonoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sebastopol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastopol Hotel Sebastopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing