We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local dishes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariscos Puerto Nuevo

Mariscos Puerto Nuevo
Ranked #20 of 88 Restaurants in Seaside
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Walked to the Restaurant from the Embassy Suites. Nice easy walk and we had Paella Mexicana & Mariscada family style. Both dishes were awesome and the kids and I devoured everything. Food quantity was enough for 4 adult appetites and it was seasoned to perfection.

We wanted dessert but we couldn't find the room.

Don't miss this local gem if you have the chance.

Helpful?
Thank Familyofwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Ole Verde is a must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We eat here regularly and this little hole in the wall is a gem. The wait staff are very friendly and helpful and don’t mind explaining unfamiliar dishes to the ole gringa! There is also one of these in Soledad, Ca. Breakfast is outstanding and the chilequilles to die for but my favorites are the oxtail dish with a rich spicy green sauce, the pork rib platter in sauce, the taco lengua, the ceviche is bomb, the shrimp tostada, and the unbelievable Ole Verde. This steaming hot soup is divine. The clear green broth is the perfect setting or the al dente onion and green pepper strips floating in a sea of fresh flakey fish, scallops and shrimp. It is huge so must be shared or a main course for one but is a must try at this wonderful restaurant. Food is very reasonable and usually tables are available.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vdoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
365 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“yelp doesn't lie!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

found marisco's via yelp and went there for dinner because of the high ratings. hubby ordered shrimp with ranchera sauce, which was EXcellent. i ordered chile rellenos, which were good but much different from what i've had before. rice and beans were good. and the tortillas, which were of the nuked and store-bought variety were nice and warm - they were very generous with the number of tortillas. they were attentive and provided excellent service.

we enjoyed this place so much we came back for breaksfast. hubby had a mexican omelette, and i had eggs with chorizo. the omelette was awesome, filled with ham and good stuff. the eggs with chorizo, again, very different from what i'm used to, and make myself, but it was very good. and again the tortillas were plentiful. they brought a side of butter and were very attentive and provided great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We had one of the best lunches in a long while. As the other reviewers say, the location is unpretentious yet lively. It's clear that a lot of the customers are locals from the Mexican and Latino community. My wife and I split a Mariscada, which is a mix of fresh seafood and fish in a deliciuos mildly hot sauce and fresh vegetables. This is one of the best fish plates I have tried in a very longtime. Absolutely unique. The staff is very friendly and was prompt at giving us good suggestions. At the end they offered us a sample of flan, which was also delicious. I strongly recommend a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food, great seafood, great Mexican seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This little place was delightful. I was visiting friends in Monterey and we went to Mariscos Puerto Nuevo based on a recommendation they had from a neighbor. When we got there, we were a bit put off by the appearance. But, we "braved it" anyway, and were well rewarded!
We started with nachos with beef. Absolutely wonderful, perhaps the best nachos I have ever had. But the downside was it put a big dent in our appetites.
For mains, we all had seafood dishes (e.g., bacon-wrapped prawns and the seafood special), and all were fabulous, with large helpings. Due to starting with the nachos, we couldn't quite finish off our plates, but we did our best.
Service was efficient and friendly, as you would expect from a decent family-run restaurant. This Canadian visitor was grateful for the very helpful advice about the menu.
This restaurant seemed like a place for locals, more than for the tourists. It's away from the usual tourist areas, and there is no sign of any pretentious attitude. But if more tourists knew what they could get here, I am sure the locals would quickly find themselves outnumbered.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Puerto Nuevo also viewed

Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Seaside, Monterey County
Seaside, Monterey County
 

Been to Mariscos Puerto Nuevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing