We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“:) Many happy Returns!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“:) Many happy Returns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon traveling a bit over California. I stayed at Embassy Suites when I was about 6 years old...and have always wanted to go back on my honeymoon, and going back was not disappointing! It's a beautiful place! We paid $177 for a night in a suite with a king sized bed and an ocean view on the 11th floor. Also, the complimentary happy hour and full breakfast we're amazing!! Their chef makes delicious omlettes to your request and there are multiple types of coffees, breads, juices, cereal, fruits, meats, yogurt....etc. It was thoroughly enjoyable! I would definitely recommend this!
Oh, and the people who worked there were sooo courteous and helpful! It made it a very pleasant stay :)

  • Liked — The beauty of it all!
  • Disliked — Having no DVD player in the room and the PPV being so expensive!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Married2Superman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    536
    315
    162
    76
See reviews for
765
405
32
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Good place as are all of the Embassy's I've stayed at. Asked for a king suite and it came with an ocean view from the bed. Well insulated from the interior hotel traffic. Great blackout drapes in the bedroom. Would recommend getting to the complimentry breakfast early as it get pretty crazy in the last half hour of service.
Will stay again.

  • Liked — Service, clean quiet romm, location
  • Disliked — Fitness center lacks equipment
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swede210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night as a stop off travelling up the coast & would definitely recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, great pool area (even though it was a little spoilt by loads of children jumping & diving in!), hot tub & sauna. We had a room on the top floor with a side ocean view. The room had a seperate living & bedroom area which also included a fridge & a microwave. There is a managers reception in the evening where we sampled some cocktails! We ate at the hotel as there wasnt much in the surrounding area & we were glad we did. The food was fantastic. Breakfast is also included in the rate which made this excellent value as you can basically eat what you like & they can cook your eggs to order or you can just eat from the buffet. I would stay here again no doublt but only for 1/2 nights as there isn't a lot to do close by.

  • Liked — Great rooms & pool & spa area
  • Disliked — Not a lot to do in the surrounding area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

This hotel was spotless. That was my first impression and stayed with me for the enrire stay (sadly it was a one night stay only on our drive along the coast).

Through travelzoo I got a really great deal at this hotel and I must say I absolutely loved it. This hotel is designed in such a way that everything seems to be close by. Even the pool seems to be close by. The free breakfast was probably the best free breakfast I ever had and it's made to order. We were also been given a room on the very top floor.
The hotel seems to be brand new and the rooms were extremely new and clean with everything you would need, even had a microwave. The washing machines were on our floor which was great. You get a separate bedroom, separate living room with a pull out sofa.
There is also free internet but only in the business center on the ground floor which has two computers. If you use the wi-fi in the room you then have to pay $9.95 per day. The room we stayed in also had views of the ocean although the ocean seems a little far away from the hotel. For the super special rate of $89.00 a night that I paid I think this is the best hotel I ever stayed in.

Oh yeah, when I contacted the hotel directly to make sure about the rate (which was really great even for the low season) the woman in charge was very prompt to reply and very helpful to book the room I wanted. I don't remember the names but the receptionist from Fiji and the one from Hawaii were also great to deal with. If you will twist my arm to find a fault with this hotel, the only one I can think of was the fact there were no public phones anywhere so you must pay extra and use the hotel phones. I think the “public phone” they had in the lobby was requiring a minimum charge of $5 and you could only pay by using the credit card. But nevertheless I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Make sure you make time for breakfast. It was definitely worth it.

  • Liked — The excellent breakfast included in the room price
  • Disliked — No public phones which is a pain if you're an overseas tourist
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while travelling with my parents over Thanksgiving week. The hotel was a little outdated but the bed was comfortable, the rooms were spacious and the service was great. The hot tub and pool were a nice place to stop in each day, especially after biking 17 mile drive.

Each morning there was a complimentary buffet breakfast with made to order omlets, assorted bread and pastries, cooked eggs, sausage, bacon and fresh fruit. Also coffee and juices. I would say, as far as complimentary breakfasts go, this one was quite good.

Each night there was a 2 hour managers reception with open bar. The bar was pretty extensive, serving up beer, wine, sangria, and mixed drinks. I beleive there was also a shirley temple bar for chlidren. We enjoyed the drinks while hanging out in our room and it was convient to go back and get another drink if you liked. One night we ate dinner at the restaurant while the reception was going on and we were able to get drinks from the open bar and bring them into the restaurant. On a side note, the restaurant in the hotel was okay. We got sandwiches - turkey club and steak au jous - both were tasty.

The staff was very helpful in offering up directions and recommendations about the area. We ran out of toothpaste halfway through our stay and they had complemntary toothpaste as well as other ammenities (like razors, shaving cream, etc) available at the front desk.

All in all, while the decor was a bit outdated and old, our experience was quite enjoyable and for the value, we certainly felt that we got our money's worth.

  • Liked — Convenient Location, Friendly Service and who can complain about free drinks...
  • Disliked — Outdated Decor
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bnbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

My husband and I were wanting to visit Monterey since we had never been, so I booked a stay at the Embassy Suites after many hotel reviews. Our stay was okay. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms were clean (outdated but clean), bed was comfortable, and the morning breakfast along with the manager's reception was decent. If you are looking to a place to rest your head, I would say that the Embassy Suites can deliver just that. If you are looking for something a little more upscale, I would not recommend this hotel. Overall, the Embassy Suites is a nice place to stay.

  • Liked — They have a game room!
  • Disliked — The outdated furnishings.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrktngspclst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights. Unfortunately first impression was not good, as there was a musty smell on walking into the lobby ( probably from indoor water feature). Area for breakfast was dark, gloomy and cold!
Room was large but furniture dated and old.
On the plus side, breakfast included was excellent and also evening drinks. Also business centre and fitness facilities were good.

  • Liked — Good breakfast and evening recepyion
  • Disliked — Gloomy atrium
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjjnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing