We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Badly in need of maintenance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Badly in need of maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel in the past two months. In my first review I commented that the hotel needed some upgrades. But what occurred on this last visit was inexcusable. When we arrived one of the three public elevators was not working. The next morning, none of the public elevators were working. We went to the service elevator where a staff member was in charge. Twelve of us got into the elevator with the staff member (including three young children). The outer door closed (without anyone pushing the button) but the inner door remained open. The elevator would not move. The staff member called for assistance but no one was able to open the door. We were in the elevator for 10 minutes until someone told us to lift the bar inside of the elevator. Everyone had to use the stairs from the 10th floor. There are four elevators in the hotel and all 4 were not working. We were told they had just spent $250,000 on the elevators. This was a frightening experience. I complained and management sent a cheese plate to my room.

The first time we stayed we were in an ocean front room, this time we were in a room on the side of the hotel. The rooms on the side are much bigger and nicer than the rooms with a sea view. We did have a view of the ocean out the side. I definitely don't think it's worth paying extra for the sea view.

The rooms are comfortable but there are calcium stains on the faucets in the bathroom and in the other basin in the living area. Overall the hotel is tired and needs a facelift and some basic maintenance.

I must however praise the staff who were very helpful. In particular, Mexique who works in the buffet breakfast area is fantastic.

We also had an event there and Rachel and her staff were excellent. Everything was as ordered.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for the ocean view. The freeway runs between the hotel and the ocean so it is nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our poroperty on your recent trip to Monterey. We regret to hear about your disappointing experience that our hotel has caused you. We truly value your honest feedback and suggestions, as well as sharing with us what need improvements within our facility. We are continuing upgrades to our property and we hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    512
    296
    156
    67
See reviews for
717
381
31
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was a great experience. Close to all the sites. Clean, friendly staff and very well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We even had a great view of the Monterey Peninsula. We arrived early but I wasn't sure if they could accomodate us. The staff was great, we unloaded all of our luggage at the front desk with no problem and enjoyed Cannery Row without rushing back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. We are glad to hear that you truly loved our hotel and had a great experience here. We are pleased we had the opportunity to serve you.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with great views of Monterey Bay and Hwy 1 from our room (we got a corner suite, so that may have helped). It is also close to all the attractions of Monterey. Food quality, night-time piano lounge, and ground floor decor were on par (or better) than most other Embassy Suite hotels. However, the hotel shows sign of age and a lack of upkeep. The elevators were out most of the time during our stay, giving us the physical fitness test to walk up/down 9 flights of stairs or wait 15+ minutes until the elevators were fixed. Even so, these fixes were temporary as the elevators were out when we returned again and again. Our room needed new paint and decor, the bathroom fixtures were outdated, and water drained slowly from the sink (I brought all this to the notice of the management). I was surprised by the self-parking fee, which was never mentioned during check-in, although I was told that it is mentioned on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the lake and with a view of Hwy 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dileau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointing experience with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you faced. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Left comments already - facilities should be regularly maintained to ensure cleanliness to all. Reservation line should be 100% honest when scheduling reserverations. Repairs to lobby restrooms and guest suites should be completed to provide the best look overall for the business. Some improvements to areas mentioned would ensure returned business and justification to spending $500 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel that the condition of our property disappointed you on many levels. I'm sorry that you had some troubles with our central reservations as well. We will work with our maintenance team to ensure these problems are immediately attended to. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

First, the good. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's just off Highway 1, with easy access to Monterey (Fishermen's Wharf, Cannery Row, Aquarium), Pacific Grove, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, etc. We used it as a base to explore Monterey, Carmel, and the area wineries.

Breakfast was, as you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, good, with lots of options, both buffet and made-to-order.

The on-site restaurant and bar are acceptable alternatives if you're too tired to go out to explore the area restaurants (although I'd recommend that you take advantage of the area eateries).

The good ends there. The property is in definite need of a facelift, and there were several mechanical issues. Two of the three elevators were not working through much of our stay (3 days). The air conditioning in our room (on the "Premium Floor") was ineffective, and noisy to boot. Hot water ran out during showers. Water pressure was poor.

We also had to laugh at several of the finishings in the hotel. Almost nothing was square. The light bar in the bathroom was hung at an odd angle. Walls in the bathroom were not square. Elevator button coverings were cockeyed. It became a game to point out these oddities during the stay.

For the premium price of the room, we were sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to Monterey and many of the local attractions around the area.
Our breakfast certainly does have much to offer as well as our Pacifica Cafe.
I would like to apologize for the many issues that your family experienced during your stay. Our elevators are being attended to and about to undergo and uupgrade. The maintenance issues that you reported are all being immediately repaired. I am sorry that we dropped the ball during your stay and we hope you choose to give us another chance to leave you with a lasting impression of your property.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites on 10/4 Friday night so we can be close to my daughter's swim meet in Carmel on Saturday morning. We paid a premium on the room but thought that it was conveniently located and we would have a nice cook to order breakfast that was needed for a full swim meet. Unfortunately, in the morning, all the elevators went out of service including the service elevator and we had to spend the morning carrying alot of our bags ourself (including coolers) down 11 flights of stairs. We missed our breakfast and my daughter was late to her swim warm ups. We must of ran up and down the stairs 3 full round trips! By the time we got the meet, we were tired and frazzled. Fire department had to come for safety concerns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay which inconvenienced the rest of your day. We apologize for the headaches you experienced with our elevators and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

When you know there's a special event your times should match up, please start breakfast when you open the cold items. Overall I love this hotel and have stayed here four times and plan on coming back. Great staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us once again. We appreciate your suggestions regarding our breakfast times and they will be passed along to the appropriate personnel. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing