We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed April 6, 2013

never got pillows requested prior to check inn asked at check inn was told they would be right up called again there on way asked at front desk , on the way 9 pm was told there were no extra I explained why i needed them was told they would be right up, I went out and bought 1 extra pillow as hotel could not provide

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is right off the highway and beach in Seaside. If you're coming from the North it's right before Monterey. Overall good location and convenient to stores if you forgot anything.

Checking in was easy and painless for the most part. My brother had checked in earlier and they accidentally checked him in as me before they realized their mistake but they forgot to undo my check-in so it created some confusion when I got there. They sorted it, though.

The room itself is clean and easily handled a family of 5 which I could not say for most hotels that are near cannery row or Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey. It has two rooms and a tv in both plus a fridge. If you're going to Monterey and you have a big family this is infinitely easier than trying to cram them into a smaller room nearer to the city. And this place is like 15 minutes from either of those locations so just do that. Although more towels would probably be a good thing when a room can sleep 5-6 people. Just a request.

The breakfast was decent for a place like this. It's not going to win any awards but that's what you get here. I didn't even try for the made-to-order line...it was crazzzzyyy. I just did the buffet. Eggs were typical no-seasoning just scrambled so get some pepper and salt. And the bacon was sort of meh but it's bacon so it can't be all bad. But there was plenty of places to sit and they didn't care my kids were running around like crazed weasels that morning.

We didn't use any of the other facilities because we left for the aquarium pretty early that morning but they had a few pool tables and some video games that seemed popular with kids.

We'd definitely stay here again if we come down and make an overnight trip out of it.

Room Tip: I couldn't really tell that there would be a good or bad room choice here. Other than maybe not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Checked into the hotel yesterday Tuesday April 2nd and was told breakfast is served from 6am -9am. Just spent $185 bucks to stay here for the free breakfast. Im on vacation Im not waking up at 7am. 9am breakfast is done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handsuplastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel. The rooms are the usual standard for this group and well kept and clean. The hotel location is nice if you have a car and is willing to use it for getting around to visit Monterey and the area. From the hotel description it seemed that it was close to the beach but in reality you need transportation to go anywhere. There might be a shuttle service but we where unable to find information about it and the staff was pourly breifed on (any) services. The breakfast was nice with cooked omelets but you could not get just eggs. The pool area was standard for this hotel group but was almost toxic for the amount of clorine in the water making it imossible for smaller children to enter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars14jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Embassy Suites guest,

We apologize for any misinformation that you received regarding the location of our hotel. We will certainly review our hotel description. I want to also apologize for the lack of information regarding our shuttle service and the swimming pool condition. Please know that your concerns have been noted and will be addressed by the department managers. We are always in search of ways to enhance our guests' experiences, and you have certainly provided some opportunities to do so. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Monterey.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for a short family vacation during Spring Break. The hotel was conveniently located. It was a great value. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The kids enjoyed the pool tables and the swimming pool. It was very clean and inviting. Everyone was friendly.

Room Tip: We had a nice bay view room. Our King bed suite connected with the children's double room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Embassy Suites guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our convenient location and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Monterey area.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've stayed in lots of Embassy Suite properties across the country and this was just an average property for the chain. It has a kind of tired feel to the place and needs some noticeable maintenance---a seam on the chair in our room was frayed and stitched together poorly; there was a very large chunk out of the wall in the hallway, etc. That being said, the size of the king corner suite was just what we needed for our family of five, easily able to accommodate a roll-away bed and then some. The staff was friendly and helpful (the roll-away was waiting for us in our room when we checked in); breakfast was the usual; the bed was comfortable. They could have used more variety in the happy hour snacks, and a decent mattress on the roll-away but my expectations were met. Location next to the highway makes it easy to access and we could not hear the freeway from our room. We would stay here again for the location near to our planned activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Embassy Suites guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We apologize that your expectations for our hotel was just average. We are very excited for our next round of renovations coming in the near future which these issues will be addressed and will enhance our guest experience. We look forward to your next visit when you return to the area.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We picked Embassy Suites for the breakfast since I have three teenagers and figured they could eat as much as they wanted. There was a variety at breakfast but a lot of muffins etc. Loved that they made omelets to order. Breakfast area was a little sticky but I am sure that with all the people it is hard to keep up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmjjm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $170 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing