We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

Stayed one night at Embassy Suites en route to San Franciso. The check in was very quick and we had a corner room on the 9th floor. Was very impressed with the room, large lounge area with dining table and chairs, sofa and small kitchenette. The bedroom was a good size too. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of food. It was a shame we didn't have longer there.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucylocket57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    536
    315
    162
    76
See reviews for
765
405
32
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

I went to this hotel in August 2007 with my husband and 11 year old daughter. We had been travelling California and this was our 2nd destination. As we had just come straight from San Francisco, we were all looking forward to a slightly more relaxing time. So, we chose this hotel where we would be staying for 4 nights! When we arrived, the hotel looked massive, like a huge tower building in New York - yet it was extremely welcoming! When we arrived it was approximately 5:30pm and at 5pm every afternoon there would be a huge crowd of people in the lobby and dining area as it's when you can get free salted popcorn, free cocktails, free drinks like water, coke, lemonade etc, and also there was things like burgers, hot dogs whhich you had to pay for, but were very cheap but delicious! There are loads of children everywhere, literally jam-packed with them as it is a family hotel. Definitely nothing like a romantic getaway! Excellent for families though!
The reception was very kind and helpful too, always cheerful and great with the kids.
The hotel has 12 floors of suites. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which had a decent sized bathroom, 1 good sized bedroom and one lounge which had a television, a balcony leading from it, 1 chair and 1 sofa which turned into a double bed at night! (My daughter slept in this sofa bed). There is also 1 kitchen which comes with plenty of cupboards, oven, sink, fridge and anything you might need!
Breakfast at this hotel was great (if you actually got there before all the good stuff was takem!) as many people got up very early for breakfast there. Anyway, the choice was great, you could choose from many things such as toast, cookies, muffins, fruit cakes, water, lemonade, coffee, hot chocolate, yoghurts, fruit and plenty of staff going around to help you! :) Breakfast was the only meal we had there, so we don't know much about the other meals (except from the 5pm complimentary food and drinks!) as we were out at all the local attractions!
Opposite this hotel was a Starbucks which provided cookies, mugs, straws, girly plates and of course cakes, cookies, tea, frappachinos, cappachinos and all the normal things you'd expect to be in a Starbucks! Also near the hotel, about a 10 minute walk away is the beach which was lovely to go down to in the evenings to witness a breath-takking sunset!
The hotel had 1 swimming pool which was very small but did get rather deep! It was inside and heated, almost empty at daytime but at the evening it was full of children and parents! I guess it's because people were at the beach and attractions. At around 10pm kids had to leave the pool and allow adults only. In the pool room was also a hot tub with a bubble machine thing if you pressed a button!
There is a gift shop which provides cigarettes, cuddly toys, postcards, souveniers, drinks, sweets and chocolate etc...There is also an arcade there with a snooker table, racing car driver machines etc. These were not free though and not very busy because of the fact you have to pay to use them!
Overall, we had a wonderful time staying at this hotel and if travelling with kids again, would definitely come back!

  • Liked — Spacious and convient.
  • Disliked — The pool.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tr0picalSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed one night, and although this location was a bit pricey, it was worth it for two moms with two teenage boys doing college tours over spring break! We found the location very clean, the staff very friendly, and found breakfast to be good.

One of us forgot a toothbrush, and they promptly brought up a complimentary one (even offered toothpaste) and then we had a follow up call.

We did room service, and found it to be quite good. I recommend the baymartini. It was shrimp cerviche and one of the best I have ever had! The ceasar was ok, and the clam chower in the bowls pretty good.

The only downside was that the pool was overcrowded with young kids, but it was spring break, and a family vaction site. The exercise room was just average.

Breakfast was good, and I would recommend the made to order omeletes.

pricey, but based on location, and having a room where we could shut the doors on two teenage boys, and feed them breakfast..........worth it!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsuzziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

I would say for the most part this is a great hotel for families. The place was swarming with kids....running around and playing with all the elevator buttons. If you are traveling by yourself or honeymooning....my advise would be to stay away, not unless there's a good deal going on...then it's your decision.

For the most part:
- The room was pretty clean and spaces....no complaints
- The parking situation wasn't too bad when I was there.
- The location of the hotel is pretty convinent...close to the freeway, canerary road, carmel, and other points of interest out there (ei..Point Lobos (nice place for short hikes). =)

- The handle on the toilet was kind of broken...you had to push it down at an angle for it to flush...but useable
- The handle in the shower was loose.....but useable
- Didn't have a very good experience with the air conditioning system....it was either too cold or too warm.
- The room was also kind of dusty
- Their pool is indoors and it's always crowded.
- The towels were kind a stiff...but clean

As attractive as the free breakfast and happy hour sounds...WORD OF WARNING... Try to get there early so that you can avoid the crowds. The breakfast was okay...the pre-cooked stuff (ei..scramble eggs, bacon, and sausage) were cold. On my first day there the scramble eggs were ice cold. It looked like they had just taken the stuff out of the frig and didn't even bother warming it up! We told the staff about it since we felt bad wasting food. They said that they had a late start that morning. I hope no one got sick eating that stuff. It wasn't much better the second day that I was staying there. The omelet and waffle stations were okay...not too bad. A friend of mine has stayed here before and she didn't seem to have had this problem with the food, so good luck to those that will stay here in the future. The happy hour thing is also crowded.

Over all, I would stay here again.....if there was a promotion going on. =)

  • Liked — spaciousness, location, cleaniness
  • Disliked — too many families
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

The hotel turned out much nicer than I had anticipated after reading others' reviews on this site. We had a 10th floor room so had no issues with road noise or noise from the atrium. As others have said, the hot breakfast was quite adequate: bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, potatoes, etc.

The jacuzzi was a bit crowded until 10 p.m., which is when it's open for adults only. The dry sauna was nice. The fitness room had a half dozen treadmills and eliptical machines, but no weights. However, they were in the process of installing some type of universal machine during our stay.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes (by car) away from Carmel and Monterey, and isn't really within walking distance of anything other than the beach which is approximately 1/3 mile away. There is a McDonalds, Starbucks, Chili's, Smart & Final, and Home Depot nearby.

The 2 room suites were nicely furnished. My wife was chatting with friends in the front room, while I had gone to bed, and the door did a good job of keeping the noise level down to a minimum.

The only gripe I have is that Internet access costs extra at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank narkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week in Jan 2008. I was in town for a conference and this hotel had the discounted rate for conference attendees.

The hotel is very nice with the usual Embassy Suites interior courtyard. The room was a corner room and had windows on two sides. The kitchenette area was nice and the bathroom was clean and well-stocked. Overall the room was new, clean and well decorated. There was lots of space to stretch out and enjoy. The staff at the hotel were great, any request was answered within 10 minutes, and room service was quick and courteous. The managers reception in the evening was nice and the hot breakfast buffet was plenty for the mornings. The pool and hot tub are in an enclosed area and were very pleasant. Overall I have no complaints about the hotel.

The location of the hotel leaves a little to be desired. It shares a parking lot with a Chili's restaurant. Also, it is at the intersection of two busy roads. You will need a car to get anywhere from this hotel. There is a Starbuck's across the street. You will only be able to see the bay if you are on one of the very top floors, as there is a highway and sand dunes blocking the view. Technically you could walk to the beach from here, but you have to cross a major intersection, go under a freeway, and then through the dunes to get there. There is a prking lot at the beach just down the street to drive and park there. The hotel is next to a walking trail that cirlces a lake and has two playgrounds. Also, it is about 10 minutes north of Monterey and all the tourist sights there. We found there to be little traffic between Seaside and Monterey and had plenty of time to see all the sights.

Area recommendations: If you do nothing else, take the 17-mile drive through Pebble Beach. I have never seen scenery like that in my life, it is fanstastic. Then go out the Carmel gate and drive along the beach in Carmel-by-the-Sea. That village is breathtaking. I had the urge to immediately quit my job and move there. While in Pebble Beach, stop at the golf vollage - we were able to get a free putting lesson on the putting green in the middle of the village. Then get a drink or meal at the restaurant that overlooks Carmel and the golf links. It will make you feel rich for an hour or two!

Also, other area tips: The Monterey Aquarium is of course mandatory and wonderful. We drove up to Santa Cruz one day to go to the boardwalk, which was great even though the rides were closed. The arcades were open and we also went bowling at the lanes there at the boardwalk which were great. If you have little kids, I also highly recommend the Roaring Camp Railroad, which takes you on a 90-minute steam train ride through virgin redwood forest. The railroad is about an hour north of this hotel. Also, my son loved the free Dennis the Menace playground in Monterey, about 10 minutes from this hotel.

  • Liked — The big clean room
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Loves_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

This was a little pricey for our budget, but the hotel layout was great. My three boys (ages 9, 7, and 1) had enough space to relax with the separate bedroom and family room. My husband and I were able to relax in the family room after the kids went to bed. The refrigerator and mini kitchenette served our needs well and we were able to prepare food for our toddler in the room with the microwave. The best thing was the hot breakfast downstairs everyday! They offered a good selection of hot and cold foods and beverages. The amount that we saved each morning by not having to go out and get breakfast everyday was worth it. We will definitely stay at an Embassy Suites Hotel again!

  • Liked — The hot breakfast
  • Disliked — The elevators were slow during busy times
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredmomofthreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing