We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Seaside (near Monterey) for two nights Feb 7 & 8 for a quick get away for the two of us. We have stayed there before and will again. The property is very clean, conveniently located, has great rooms, and a very nice breakfast. It's only about 10 minutes from Fisherman's Wharf where there is some great dining and whale watch tours so you can go out and enjoy and come back to a quiet and comfortable room. The rates are a bit high but it is Monterey and we were also there on a weekend with a major golf tournament in town.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 10. Great room with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_4_Relax_N_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our convenient location and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Monterey when there's not a major golf tournament.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    549
    328
    179
    104
See reviews for
806
420
36
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years. It is showing it's age, but when we were there last they were painting the exterior and sprusing it up. I hope they work on the rooms next. Nothing really bad at all, just normal wear and tear. It is close to the beach and the best fish restaurant in town (Monterey Fish House). It is a ways from downtown though. The staff is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoraJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites Guest, we thank you for the many stays with us over the years. We are excited to have the entire building painted and we are looking forward to the next round of renovations to come in the near future. We thank you for your feed back and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul Apilado
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was the worst experience I have ever had in a Hilton chain hotel. While it looks nice, it has maintenance problems. It took over twenty minutes to get through the line to check in because only two people were servicing the line. When I checked in at 5 PM they admitted they were having boiler problems, but said the hot water would be available in thirty minutes. I went to sleep after 10 PM and there still was no hot water. People in the lobby complained of not having had hot water all day. The first room I received had no heat. I was given another room whose heater only ran on a low fan. It barely kept the room comfortable. I reported to the staff that one of the elevators was not working. Ten minutes later I watched someone get stuck in a different elevator. That leaves only one elevator out of three that I did not observe having problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUSTanotherJOEtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites Guest, thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay! Our apologies for the wait you had to endure while checking in, but please know that we do try to check our guests in and out as quickly as possible. Also we apologize for the hot water problem. One of our circular pumps went out, which caused the boilers to go down. Please know that these maintenance issues with the heater and the elevator have been addressed and resolved. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel by staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bordeaux, Frankrijk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've stay at this hotel for 2 nights end of October 2012 and when we goes again to monteray , than we goes again to the Embassy Suites, they give us an upgrading to highest floor (12) with balcony and oceanview far away from elevators , perfect suite. managers cocktail excellent, breakfast buffet also great with omelette cooked to order and good customerservice over all. the restaurant on site had great food

Room Tip: take a suite on the higher floors with oceanview far away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRR111043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Embassy Suite Guest, thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We are thrilled that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed one of our comfortable suites and all the amenities we had to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Embassy Suites on your next visit to Monterey.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just finished spending a week at this hotel. For those of you familar with Embassy Suites it's the same deal:Cocktails in the evening, Breakfast in the morning. The best part of breakfast is Michelle. She works most mornings and is probably the best example of customer service I've seen in a long time. Very friendly and tries to do everything she can to make your morning go well. Unlike some Embassy Suites breakfast experiences, Michelle goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and important.

The hotel itself is starting to fray at the edges.The tempature in the lobby/breakfast area in the mornings was suitable to store meat. I mean, so cold it was uncomfortable.(it got better after I complained) The first night, there was no hot water(at least 3 other folks had the same issue on our floor. Looking at other reviews I noted this is NOT a new issue) I told the front desk in the morning and it was corrected. The fixtures in the tub felt like they were about to come off. The spa was broken all week. The gym needs a good cleaning(and the "complimentary earbuds"basket was empty every morning I worked out) To be fair, the staff is very helpful and tries to correct issues brought to their attention,but these things need not occur.

The location is good. Access to all the stuff in Monterey is easy, but not walkable. Starbucks is kitty-corner and there is a Costco fairly close by too. All in all, a decent hotel but headed in the wrong direction maintenance wise. I've stayed in better Embassy Suites, but I've also stayed in worse. Hopefully, hotel management will work on being more pro-actve on maintenance issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex2006_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites Guest, to hear such wonderful comments about our staff and the level of service we provide is encouraging! Michelle will surely be happy to learn of your kind words! In addition, please accept our sincerest apologies with the maintenance issues and the hot water. Due to the circular pumps going out, it caused our boilers to go out. It has been addressed and resolved. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel by staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The suite was a great set-up for our family of two adults and two young children. The room was neat and clean with plenty of space. We had a corner suite, which was a bit larger than the others. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - extensive, hot and cold choices, and yummy omelettes made to order. Our kids enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi, and my husband and kids enjoyed the fitness room. Our dinner in the restaurant was very good. A great location for exploring Monterey during the day.

Room Tip: A corner suite is a little more spacious than a regular suite, and the rooms don't open to the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites Guest, we are pleased to hear that you and your family had a comfortable stay with us and were delighted by the amenities of the hotel. We thank you for sharing your review of the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to the Monterey Bay!

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is not up to the standard of other Embassy Suites. The shower curtain rod had rotated 180 degrees so the shower curtain would not close, the bathtub drain would not close fully, and there was no hot water on the top floor in the late afternoon/evening. Overall the bathroom was due to be gutted and renovated (cheap plastic inserts had been added to the shower/tub walls, and are now wearing badly).

The breakfast was also slighly below the usual standard of an Embassy Suites.

I'm an elite member of the Hilton Honors program, but my wife hates this hotel so much we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Embassy Suites guest, thank you for taking the time to express your experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges you faced with the overall bathroom condition. We value your opinions and reviews. We ensure that each of our reviews is provided to the appropriate team members to help address these challenges.

Sincerely,

Paul A.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
245 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing