We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,991)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveler rating
663
618
365
206
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
618
365
206
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionfree happy hourorder omelettesmade to order breakfastcocktail hourmonterey bayfree breakfastsofa bedocean viewshort drivecannery rowcorner roomwe've stayedfisherman's wharfbig suryogurtpebble beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,649 - 1,654 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We decided on this property late one evening as we drove north after dark from a day in the Big Sur area. The building is attractive and the location is convenient just off the highway. Check-in was smooth and pleasant, but from there our stay left much to be desired - especially for an Embassy Suites property.

The room was not particularly clean. The furniture wasn't just worn but so visibly dirty that we wouldn't allow our kids to sit on it. The carpet likewise was both unusually worn and dirty. The bedding, fortunately, was in better shape but it was still marred by a few spots and tears that caused it to fall short of expectations. The bathtub was stained and could also have been cleaner. The light fixture above the mirror in the bathroom was not merely loose but essentially hanging from the wall. So the room was pretty underwhelming. There also seemed to be a curious level of street noise in the bedroom, especially given that we were on the top floor of a tall property. We discovered the next morning that this was because the windows in that room weren't quite closed and could not be completely closed. Not a huge deal, but it added to the run-down feel of the place.

Breakfast the next morning was an extreme letdown. Our children are young enough to be excited about hotel breakfasts - especially a full hot breakfast with made-to-order eggs and the like. We had planned on breakfast at the hotel, but for essentially the entire morning there was not a single table available and the breakfast area was completely overrun. Even shortly before check-out time, when we decided to forget about breakfast and do it elsewhere, the scene was near-chaos. I know the hotel is big and I expect they were near or at capacity the night we stayed, but it seemed as though people were being bussed in or something. We were determined to at least get coffees and juices for the road, and even that wasn't worth the frustration it caused. There were at least fifteen people jammed around the coffee carafes and juice machines in at atmosphere of disorder. There was bumping and jostling as people moved around in the tight space - an especially unpleasant experience when drinks are involved.

The service was not great, though our needs were few. The breakfast staff had a hard time keeping up with things (perhaps understandably). At the front desk, which when we checked out was not at all crowded, we responded when asked how our stay was that the room hadn't been as clean as we would have liked and that we had discovered when we woke up that the windows would not close. The response was a robotic "OK, thanks" and a glance back at the computer screen the clerk had been studying when we walked up to hand over our keycards, signaling the conversation was over. It wasn't one we cared to press further.

As a Hilton Honors member who stays at Hilton properties (including Embassy Suites) very frequently, this property failed to deliver what I expect, especially on the fundamental criteria of cleanliness and service. I'd pass on this one if I had it to do over again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myron M, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apology and I invite you to contact the hotel directly as I would like to discuss your expereince in detail.
Sincerely,
Myron M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in Monterey on our trip through the Central Coast. The Embassy Suites are always a hit with us (family of 5).
After our drive from SLO up HWY 1 we were very warmly greater at the hotel by the front desk staff. We enjoyed the managers reception then headed into Monterey for dinner. The drive to Cannery Row is quick and easy.
The room was clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was the standard fair, always kept fresh and tables are quickly bussed. The wait for the omlettes is worth it!
Staying in Monterey is not cheap and this property is in line with the area and parking is free and if you got to the aquarium you can park downtown and take the trolley to save a few bucks.
Staying in the talest building in the area with views of the ocean does have its advantages.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ott_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Embassy Suites Monterey California to attend a wedding. Although located in Seaside, it's just a short drive down Del Monte Blvd to Fisherman's Wharf. We checked in early and was pleasantly greeted by the front desk staff. Check in was smooth and our room on the 7th floor was ready. The room was spacious and clean. No complaints here. The elevators to get to the rooms and back to the ground floor is another matter. There is only 3 elevators to handle 225 rooms on 12 floors. The wait time for an elevator was anywhere from 1 minute to 10 minutes depending on how full they were (most of time very full, had to wait for next elevator). This was very frustrating. The morning breakfast and the Manager's reception were outstanding. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Monterey area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bounder04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were upgraded to a oceanview room, which had a great view.Hilton Honors members receive free water, soda and snacks from the front desk, which is a nice touch. The location is very good with easy access to Hwy 1 to get to Carmel. The Hotel is right on the border with Monterey on Del Monte Ave, which leads to the Wharf and historic district. With only three slow elevators and large crowds, the wait in the morning and during cocktail hour can be long. The breakfast is OK only if you stand in line for the custom cooked eggs - don't eat the eggs in the buffet - cold and tasteless. The hotel hosts large crowds of families, which can make things very hectic, but that's to be expected at an Embassy Suites in a vacation area.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor oceanview if you don't mind long waits for the elevator. The views are great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is your average Embassy Suites. With free parking, breakfast, roominess of suites and room pricing it represents a good value for staying in the Monterey area. The down sides are that the maintence on the property is only fair. The fitness room is large and well equipped but not all the equipment was maintained and working. Running on the beach beats the treadmill anyway. The hotel charges an internet access fee PER DEVICE so between laptop, iphone and the same with family members, you can rack up a bill. There can be a backup at the elevators. Breakfast is included in room cost, saves time and hassle, but is basic. Large convenient parking lot and several blocks from a grocery store. Overall it was a reasonable value but could have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loki_and_Odin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know we value your comments as they have been forwarded to the appropiate person (s) for review. Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Myron M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews