We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Enjoyed my stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. Each room has a sofa, dining table, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. I love that the bedroom is separate from the living area. So, I could close the bedroom door and nap while my husband watched college football. The breakfast was the best. This hotel has a full free breakfast with made-to-order omelets, biscuits and gravy, a choice of fruit, bacon and sausage links. I can go on and on. On Friday nights they have happy hour with drinks and crackers, chips and dip. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly and available. I ran out of decaf coffee and at 10pm and I was able to get more with no hesitation. I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago and would definately stay again on my next visit to Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling4StLouiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you are vacationing in Monterey/Seaside, this is THE hotel to stay at. Right on the water with amazing views, you can walk just about anywhere you want to go. We had someone drop us off at the Wharf and walked all the way up Cannery Row to Pacific Grove - it was beautiful. The rooms are great, large, clean and comfortable (typical Embassy Suites). The only thing that needed improvement was the staff....the guy that checked us in on the audit shift was very pleasant, but everyone else had a very indifferent attitude. One night we went to the bar and sat there for 10 minutes while the bartender tried to find the right bottle of wine for another guest that she had poured the wrong type for. She never even acknowledged us. The happy hour is nice but there was only one girl trying to serve about 100 people, so while it's nice to offer 'free drinks' don't expect more than one. Same for breakfast in the morning, there were always dirty tables and the omelet line was ridiculous. Food wasn't bad for a free buffet.

All that said, it really is a great hotel and when we come back to Monterey there is no question that this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the bay - some have balconies!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time2Go1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

First off, I have stayed at this Embassy Suites many times. Each time I have stayed there, the property seems to diminish in quality. We checked into our room and there were leftover items from the previous guest along with the living room coffee table missing! The thing that really rubbed me the wrong way was the fact that both days we were there, there was a "cash 4 gold" company set up in the lobby of the hotel. On the street corners outside the hotel, there were several people with signs advertising the "cash 4 gold" inside the embassy suites.

The bathroom was dirty and the AC was extremely loud. There was no water pressure and the showerhead was loose and did not function properly. The furniture is in definite need of updating and the property is really run down. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lweger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed on the 9th floor this weekend with an ocean view and saw whales in the bay from our balcony. The service was good, staff very friendly. Room clean.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly bigger, better views from the upper floors.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The suites are smaller here than they are in other Embassy Suites I've been to, but that doesn't alter the experience. This is one well kept, and well-run hotel. Our room had a great view of the water and plenty of ambiance inside. We arrived later than planned, but in time for the "Manager's Reception" which had no limits on free drinks. Although there was nothing special about the hors d'oeuvres (chips & salsa, cheese & crackers, veggies & dip, and the ever-present popcorn), the attendant kept them well-stocked. We were exhausted, and thus opted to eat at the hotel's restaurant. The food was exceptionally prepared, and the staff were more than willing to accommodate dietary restrictions/preferences. The atrium is lush with plenty of plants and trees, as well as running "rivers" and pools. The free breakfast is a bit more limited than others I've seen, but they covered the bases (a little more fresh fruit would have been nice).

The hotel is perfectly situated for time in Monterey and Carmel, and very well priced for the area. Well done to the management for making it such a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We took our three kids on a surprise trip so we could go to the aquarium. I have stayed here once before about 10 years back and loved it. We were excited to introduce the kids to an Embassy Suites. :) Walking in, the kids were in awe. This is the first time they stayed in such a big place and they loved the glass elevators. Our room was the perfect size for us - we stayed in one of the bigger corner suites. We had a couple of minor issues - there was no in-room directory so we had no idea where we could find everything we needed without having to call the front desk a few times, also no channel directory for the TV. Sink in the bathroom was very slow too. While the room is in need of an upgrade, it was very clean. The location is perfect, short drive to the aquarium and Carmel, easy to find and we all enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. If our kids were writing the review they would give 5 stars - just for the "cool glass elevators" alone.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a little more room - ask for the corner suites!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What happens when you schedule private events in the area for the manager's reception, and have a full house? Try putting 10 pounds into a 5 pound bag. Not good planning. The decor is in need of a makeover. The rooms were clean. We were on the side so no traffic concerns. The carrot cake in the onsite restaurant was good. Somebody needs to clean the picture windows up the sides of the building, with the views available, it'd be nice to see them without a hazy film to look through. The complimentary breakfast was good. Somebody needs to pull this place together and make it a real Hilton property. It's stuck in the 90s. Pinks and corals need to go.

Room Tip: Get above the ninth floor to have a good view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $196 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing