We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside is a bad area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Had a punk light firecrackers under a play structure in a nearby park. Called police, they say it is perfectly legal. Really, with children on the structure? Hotel is fine, just don't leave it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,594 - 1,600 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel could use some renovation but the facility offers good sized rooms, good food at its restaurant, a pool and a GREAT happy hour. Some outside food available nearby.

Room Tip: Only 3 elevators, 1 was broken down day 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carefree2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel was minutes away from old town Monterey. Clean, we were kindly offered a corner room b/c we were told it has more space. Suite was very spacious. Nice view of the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliannaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

OK. Heres the skinny on the Embassy Suites in Seaside, CA. The location is a few hundred feet on the east side (non-beach side) of HWY 1, just a few minutes drive to Cannery Row, Monterey Aquarium, etc. We (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed for two nights in a queen double suite (502). There are a few eating establishments in the area, but please be aware that this is not an area designed for walking.
THE GOOD. This is a convenient stop if your traveling up or down HWY 1 and need a stop for the night or it provides a launching point for day trips in the area- BIG SUR, Carmel, Monterey, 17 mile drive, etc. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. Very prompt with requests for extra towels, etc. Very smooth check-in and out.
THE BAD. Room had musty smell. This is not a new hotel by any stretch. The water has an odor, not very appealing for drinking. The bathroom did not have a ventilation fan. The shower curtain had shaving cream from a previous occupant. The blow-dryer was filthy. The faucet handles and soap dish in the shower had significant scum. My wife complained about the cleanliness problem and the hotel was very quick to send someone up to clean. When we returned to our room later the next day we found a complimentary fruit tray and nice bottle of wine, so they were very gracious in responding to our complaints. But, to continue the not-so-good; There is definitely a cleanliness gap at the morning buffet. The milk, half-and-half dispensers were filthy. We observed that the outside of the containers were not cleaned from day-to-day. The silverware and coffee cups didn't appear very clean either. This is not a place for germ-o-phobics for sure. The UGLY. Nothing really.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Arrived to find our large rooms on the 8th floor and Happy Hour in full swing. Entered into the lounge area of the bedroom to find a large utility area with sink and fridge, sofa and large TV. Next door was the bathroom all in good order and then the bedroom which was clean with good quality linens.
Happy hour - what can I say - they must be mad letting their guests have whatever they want for 2 hrs not just one. The staff were excellent - polite and just kept going and going - they also served nibbles. The atrium is large and airy and after happy hour we ordered some bar food which we ate at the same table on both nights of our stay. Excellent especially for the cost and the waiter was very good. There is also a small office area where there is use of computers and free internet access.
The hotel is situated very close to 17 Mile Drive and not too far from Monterey, the bell man gave us good directions for parking which we found easily.
Breakfast the next morning was also very good, plentiful and replenished often by the staff. Lots of choice either hot or cold and plenty of fruit, bread varieties and selection of hot and cold drinks.
We were very impressed overall - yes it is a little dated but for freebies alone stay here and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliHFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and we quite excited to be in Seaside. Embassy Suites had always been so nice in the past and felt comfortable paying the amount for the mini-suite. We arrived to loud techno music playing from the outside speakers of the hotel to start. The staff was friendly and there were two weddings (or one very large one) going on that night, so it was packed with people in the middle.
We arrived to our room to find the curtains broken on both the outside to the deck area broken and the privacy to our room as well. In the bathroom, under the sink, was disgusting. There was hair, a rubber band, and other dirt underneath. We ended up wearing flip-flops into the bathroom it was so disgusting. In addition, the bathtub, had a dingy, rolled up bathmat in the corner.
On our way out to leave for dinner, I stopped by the front desk to mention it to the front desk clerk. I have many years of experience working in hotels and know this is common practice to alert them if something is wrong. He smiled, continued what he was doing, walked over to another room, which I assume was the night auditor and said to alert security that the bathroom was messy. Nothing was ever done. The dismissiveness of the clerk was unacceptable and there were many people who could have remedied the situation; especially for the price paid. I will be sending a formal complain to them as soon as possible.

I will never stay at another Embassy Suites again!!

Room Tip: DO not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buddabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Embassy Suites were once a very nice hotel but now they are getting old and tired. The decor is outdated. The bathroom was old. The atrium has seen better times. The service was fine and the staff very accomodating. For some reason music is piped outside at the entrance at a high level. Yes there is a free happy hour with the basic drinks. There were also snacks at the cheapest level.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $169 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing