We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We received a good welcome here and our room was clean and comfortable enough. It was good value for money compared to hotels in central Monterey. I liked it much more than the nearby hotel we stayed in last time we were in the area. It is a short drive from the restaurants and tourist attractions in Monterey as well as Carmel-by-the Sea and the 17-mile drive. I was undecided whether to give it a 'three' or 'four' rating but on thinking about it I decided I would definitely consider staying here again - hence the overall rating given..

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 557 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2008

My kids (8 and 6) declared this "the best hotel ever."
I wouldn't go that far, but we were very happy with our choice.

Set your expectations accordingly. This is an inexpensive pied a terre for you to explore Monterey, not a luxury resort. It's essentially a gussied up motel with a typical walkway that goes in front of all the rooms. It's on a main road, right off the freeway. That much you expect, right?

What we didn't expect: comfortable linens with two choices of pillows. Granite counters in the room and bathroom. Free toiletries. A very decent breakfast buffet with cereal, cinnamon buns, boiled eggs, toast, bagels, etc. The coffee was lame but Starbucks is a short walk away.

The pool and spa are small. The pool is heated and was too cold for us, but my kids went in anyway.

Considering the price of the room, it more than met our expectations. It was nicely appointed, clean, and the staff were friendly.

Oh, the beds are described as "full" but they comfortably sleep two.

Also noteworthy - Costco, Target and Ross are a few blocks away, if you forgot anything, or want to shop.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank danix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Friendly reception with coffee,candy and cookies. Room swere clean and nicely appointed. Good value for money for location

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel has a great location, good amenities, average bed, and a great walk to the water and the beach. The rates were jacked up because of the race weekend which is to be expected, but I thought I would get a little better property by booking through hotwire WRONG! Just book through another site or Holiday Inn don't use those crooks. You get a jacked up rate and then they will not follow through on their so called guarantee.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank ddgRipon_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This was a nicer place than we expected & the location is just great! It was clean & the rooms were good sized & nicely appointed. This is not a luxury property by any means but we really enjoyed it. All of the staff was very helpful. If you are looking for a moderately priced option in an area that you can leisurely stroll around & enjoy look no further. We even had a partial ocean view from our corner 3rd floor room which was an unexpected treat. You are so close you will hear & see Seals which was fun.
There is a great indoor /outdoor bar at the very nice bayfront hotel on the adjacent corner. The bartenders there were just wonderful.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Cooking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip down the PCH / Highway 1. The price was very economical ($115), included free parking, free wifi, complimentary breakfast in a large dining area (not in reception like most HIEX's), and 24hr coffee/tea/cookies in the lobby. Chili's for dinner is just a walk across the car park; and a lovely view from the back (lake/river). Outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Literally "just off" highway 1.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimJam_LippyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

I researched many of the hotel offerings in the Monterey area and most were overpriced. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express in Seaside. We booked a room with a AAA mid-week August rate for under $120. The room was spotless, bright and roomy for two. The only downside was the bathroom which is definitely small. I choose a room on an upper floor in the back of the hotel which overlooks a small pond. The only sounds I heard were that of the many ducks that are attracted to the pond. I would imagine the rooms up front would probably experience more noise. And there is even a walking path in the back of the motel. Plus it is super convenient to Monterey. It is only a short (1-2 mile) ride to Fisherman’s Wharf and both Pacific Grove and Carmel are easy commutes from the hotel. Also, if you have a chance to attend Monterey has two wonderful farmers markets that are held on Tuesday (4:00 pm) and Thursday. (2:00 p.m.).

Looking at some of the other comments, I wonder if they are referring to the right hotel. This hotel does have a pool, it does have a view of a small pond in the back with walking trails, and it is just on the border of Monterey. It is not in the tourist section of Monterey but is a very easy commute.

If you are looking for a clean, safe, convenient and reasonably priced place you would be happy with this choice. If you are looking for a resort oriented facility then of course this is not it.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TnTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
266 reviews
2.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay

Address: 1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $119 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay (Del Monte Beach Area), CA. We are conveniently located off Hwy 1, just 2 blocks from the beach where you can enjoy a leisurely walk along Monterey's gorgeous coastline. We are at the gateway to the area's most popular attractions only 2 miles north of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf, 3 miles north of Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, and minutes from world-class golf at Pebble Beach. Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway is just a short 4 miles from our front door. The quaint seaside town of Carmel-by-the-Sea is a must see, and just 7 miles south via Hwy 1. After a day of exploring the Monterey Peninsula, return to our friendly hotel and relax. We offer 143, 100% non-smoking comfortable newly designed guestrooms and an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. You may also enjoy an invigorating work out in our on-site fitness center. Join us each morning for our Complimentary Express Start HOT Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay Hotel Seaside
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside
Holiday Inn Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing