We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very nice, clean and quiet. The room we were given was an ADA room with the largest bathroom I've ever seen in a 'budget' hotel..nicely updated granite/tile, upgraded linens, tasteful paint job, microwave, refrigerator and flat screen tv. Only suggestion I had was to put the towel bar closer to the shower instead of 8 feet on the other side of the room over the toilet. Also, next time, will bring a fitted bottom sheet since they use flat sheets and everyone knows those don't ever stay put. :) Courteous staff, decent breakfast, central location..and with the price, we could afford to go out to eat! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 307 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank LevonyOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A fine stay, clean room. No issues. However, one thing to keep in mind: The doors need to be closed with great force in order to close completely and lock. I discovered this very early in my stay and made sure the door was locked whenever I left the room but upon returning to my room after a day's outing, I noticed the door was not completely closed and locked. It swung open when I pressed the key card into the lock. Evidently, the cleaning staff did not close the door hard enough to lock it. Fortunately, nobody had gotten into my room. Remember to always double check that the door is locked when you leave

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank SatisfiedHoJoGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is no frills, excellent value for money - much better than your average motel at a tourist spot. The breakfast was great too ! Very short drive from Monterey downtown and beachside. Totally worth it ! The walls are a bit thin, but you can definitely use some music to camouflage other noises, if you know what I mean ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Napsterrunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Despite what others complain about this motel, it was a nice night. Beds are comfy, room is clean, spacious, TV is new and updated bathroom and sheets are clean. We did stay at the lower units close to the front desk, so I don't know how the others are. Our room was very quiet, no noise outside or from the neighbors. The bath might have "mickey mouse" repairs done to it, but it does the job nonetheless. We had a toddler with us, we all rested , therefore the room did its job greatly.

Price was very good for the area, half of what is down the street in Monterrey, breakfast was acceptable, tiny, but better than nothing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 13 in Seaside
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#6 of 13 in Seaside
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $60 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing