We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found an amazing deal online, far cheaper than any other hotel in the area, so my expectations were pretty low already. The hotel is right off the freeway, so convenient for sure! Not far were shops and eateries as well. It's not the best neighborhood so don't go for an evening stroll if you're smart. The hotel manager was kind and courteous to us and was able to provide us with a smoking room and our daughter and her friend a non smoking room. The rooms were just ok, but that's what I paid for. I bring my own cleaning supplies and lysol just to be safe and did use them. The remote didn't work in our room but our daughter's room seemed to be more recently updated. Mattress and pillow were above par but carpet was dingy. Since we only used this hotel for a place to rest on our travels, it was perfectly fine, especially for what we paid. I would actually stay here again not only because of its proximity to freeway and conveniences, but for the price it was a good night's sleep. Oh, almost forgot, as we were checking out, there was fresh coffee brewing in the office and some packaged danishes that were perfect for us before our drive. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank vegetarianteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The location is ok, just a few minutes from Monterey and Cannery Row, sort of just on the side of a road. Parking lot is too small in size and capacity and awkward to navigate. The room smelled very strange, my daughter thought it smelled like celery, maybe bad celery. The linens were rough and didn't stay on the bed, the towels and wash cloths were stained. The family running the place seemed nice enough but communication was difficult with a language barrier. The price was cheap, but you definitely felt like you were staying in a run down motel. I don't think I'd ever stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I can't say too much about the motel that's overly negative. For two business travelers, staying for three nights, it fit the bill and saved us some money.
The good: Room was clean, check-in and extending for a night was smooth & hassle-free.
The mediocre: Vending machines lack variety and parking is a bit of a premium space-wise.
The bad: Lots of people hanging around outside of rooms, street noise was pretty high and adjoining room guests were noisy well into the night.
My advice would be not to choose this hotel if you're traveling with children.
However, as a whole, if you're not expecting luxury but want a clean place to stay at a decent price, this motel meets your expectations.

Room Tip: Plan to get a parking space before dinner time.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed ole night In October 2013 and I ll recommended this motel.
It a very clean. People are helpfull
Close too the center.
Parking and internet is useful
Good address
I paid 42$ without taxes which is not expensive at all

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place was cheap for the area, so I wouldn't gripe, but seemed like questionable people were living there. Every time I left my room a large dog down the corridor barked threateningly. The room next to us had muffled rock music going until 5AM accompanied by a woman whooping intermittantly! Somewhere, earlier in the evening, I could hear a Mexican woman speaking quickly and non-stop (on the phone) for quite a long time. The room was clean enough (found no bedbugs), and adequate. Complimentary breakfast consisted of a packaged roll, and some tang. No coffee to be found in the "lobby", nor a host to give our key to upon checking out. We had called five times to change our reservation and finally gave up, arriving on the later date we'd decided on. The woman we spoke with seemed not to know what to do with us, making references to the manager coming in at various times. She took our number with each call and nobody called back. But, there was no charge for the change. Not even a mention of it. Parking was really terrible, I'd hate to have come back late. This place is not for the faint of heart........

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Absolutely worst hotel I have ever come close to staying in! I was overbooked on a traveling agency website which I also do not recommend (booking.com), and was referred to stay here.The people there were rude and unpleasant and the whole hotel looks like a warehouse so naturally I was frightened to see the rooms. I was told that they only had one room left and it was smoking, which would be a problem because I have asthma. The owner did let us see the room before we booked it but when we walked to the room we were frightened by the outside. The window in our room was smashed and had duck tape covering up the broken parts of it. When we walked in the room the smell was just awful, my boyfriend and I could barely breath. Not to mention the dust, dirt and spider webs coating the walls and furniture topped off with the cracks in the walls and ceiling. Unfortunately we were in a hurry and on our way to a wedding so we booked this room for the night thinking we could look for another place after the wedding. We came back 30 minutes later to find that we would not be refunded even after I told them I had asthma and couldn't stay in the smoking room. I was charged $257 for a piece of garbage room I didn't stay in. I did not realize that I would be charged even though it had only been 30 minutes. Shame on them. Do NOT stay here even if you are desperate for a room!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed only one night, view of a homeless encampment out my window, noisy and on a main road. Overpriced but the room interior was nice and clean, the furniture was newer and the bed was comfortable.
Left my phone charger in the room and guess what happened when I called...YOU GUESSED IT "WE DON'T HAVE IT".
Took forever to get checked in and no-one was in front of us. Their customer skills leave much to be desired and Stay if you must for comfort it will work, for pleasure it wont.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hockeygirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#4 of 13 in Seaside
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
3.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North

Address: 2201 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3127 (Formerly Sea Lamp Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $46 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Seaside North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing