We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed June 1, 2014

i was traveling with a boat, the management went out of there way to secure a spot for my boat, the rooms were very clean and upgraded, great spot to stay,within easy walking of shopping, restaurants.if we are in monterey, we will stayhere again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

I reserved a room with one queen sized bed but was pleasantly surprised to have two beds in the room. It was really overpriced because the festival, but the hotel was really clean and the bathroom was large which was nice. I would definitely stay here again, so long as I book further in advance to avoid the high price. Be aware the directions and address provided by Expedia were wrong: the hotel is on auto mall parkway, not la salle.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexxxaandraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My kids and I came to Monterey for the holiday, this place had a 2 star rating on hotels.com, expedia gave it a 3 star rating. I read all the reviews and the majority were positive vs. negative. The positive reviews were accurate. The room was clean and cozy, bedding is better than you would expect, felt like I was at a courtyard marriott when I slipped into the covers. The bathroom was newly remodeled and tub looked very clean. The reasonable price for cleanliness and comfort so close to Monterey seems almost unheard of. I'm really glad we found this little spot on our trip. Cons-the neighborhood is business/commercial so at night it is quiet and a little iffy but when you are only looking to stay in your room for the night I don't really think this is an issue. No pool and no elevator - all things I can live without.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ConchitaLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The place was clean comfortable and quiet. Only a few things they need to fix. Toilet was loose as well as the seat, the outlet near desk had no power to it the tub would not hold water to take a bath. This was in room 103 No sugar free items fir breakfast so if diabetic get breakfast elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Got here after sunset, SF took longer and we didn't want to miss Route 1 views. Selected on guest laundry facilities, first thing I did when we arrrived. Only one washer and dryer, but fast and good. So be lucky to find it empty and this is a big plus.
Room was good and breakfast was ok.
Friendly owner worked hard, saw him late at night and early in the morning. Deserves respect!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank CeeGeeBeeBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

near an auto mall, motorcyle & body shops. It's busy during the day but quiet at night. Decent size room and windows that open at front door & near bathroom, creating a cross breeze.


Comfortable bed, flat screen TV & basic remote.


Would stay again if in area, because rates are reasonable for an expensive area.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just the basics, at this clean, perfectly adequate motel. Close to the beach, Monterey, and CSUMB. Hard to beat the fair price in this area. It looks like they have recently given the place a fresh newer look, with fresh paint and fresh flower boxes. Tidy and comfortable.
Claudia S.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 1011 La Salle Avenue, Seaside, CA 93955-3614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: $59 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in Seaside minutes from the beach and near all the major attractions Monterey offers. We are only a short drive to the Aquarium, CSUMB, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row and Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing