We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked a night at this motel as a cheap overnight on the way between LA and SF. Hey, I only needed a bed, so price was the only consideration. It was so pleasant and easy to get to that on the way back to LA I booked five nights!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    101
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
96
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Based on the price, I hadn't expected much, but obviously they have been remodeling recently. The granite tub enclosure and countertops were nice, and the room included a refrigerator. The make-your-own waffles at breakfast always win me over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schindlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Sand Castle Inn is a nice, no-frills place without the massive price tag of other locations. It is just a few minutes away from Monterey and a few minutes more from Carmel-by-the-Sea.

We appreciated the recently redesigned bathrooms, flat screen TVs, free wifi, quick check-in/check-out and how close it was to the expressway entrances/exits.

Things that we were neutral on - the rest of the room could stand to be updated - bed linens, light fixture, phone, desk chair - all of it looked as though they had seen better days.

We were not impressed with how easily sound traveled through the rooms - not an issue if the other guests are polite enough to keep their voices down, not go running down the shared entrance way, or have shouting conversations to someone on the ground when they are on the second floor. Our first night was quiet, peaceful, and we were very happy. The second night, our experience was not so pleasant. So if you are someone that can be disturbed by loud noises, bring ear plugs just in case you are plagued by some less-than-thoughtful fellow guests.

Overall, we would be happy to stay here again. The affordable rates coupled with the terrific location make this a hard-to-beat spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice staff that was helpful when I called to make sure it would be okay to print out some tickets I'd be purchasing while there over the internet. They made sure to get me a wired connection because the Wifi had a little trouble the first night. Lots of shopping and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel in a nice area that feels safe to walk around in, close enough to Monterrey that you'll be happy you stayed in Seaside and saved a lot of money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsDough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words in response to your stay with us. We always love to hear about the satisfaction our customers receive so we know how to keep building on our strengths and resolve our weaknesses. We take pride in our customer service talents as well as our location to the many attractions the Monterey area has to offer. We hope to see you again.

Sand Castle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good room, good rate, GREAT service. My husband and I had the pleasure of experiencing the great service of the nicest front desk women in the world here. In spite of just having the people before us in line being outrageously rude to her, Shirlee was so polite to them and so accommodating in getting them a room for their needs. Or demands, as the case was. You can tell a real gem by the way they handle particularly difficult people. A wonderful surprise we almost missed out on. We hadn't planned on staying here but had a side trip come up and found an ad in a free local magazine. You can bet we will keep the Sand Castle Inn in mind for the next time we're up this way. Thank you Shirlee, for being a shining star and a great asset to your employers :o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiglworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback and your enthusiasm to return to Sand Castle Inn. We are glad our employees lead with strength and kindness and could make your stay more enjoyable. We are always looking for ways to improve and to better satisfy our customers. Thank you for the time you spent with us, we hope to see you again.

Sand Castle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here. The room was clean and the location was convenient. The desk chair needed to be replaced, but the show walls were marble and the water pressure was great. We found housekeeping helpful and prompt. We did not try the continental breakfast--it appeared Spartan, but instead went to the Breakfast at the Breakfast Club there at Seaside, CA (see our review) and had a great time. We covered the desk chair with a towel and enjoyed our economic stay, booked through hoteldotcom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and constructive input. We are always trying to update our rooms when appropriate and we apologize for any of the damage that was done to your room prior to your visit. We are currently looking into improving our breakfast selection as well, but are glad you enjoyed a nice meal in Seaside with your family. We look forward to your next visit.

Sand Castle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Husband and daughter stayed here while visiting CSUMB. Very clean and comfortable. Picked up a sale price, so it made it even better. Not sure how good it would be for a long term vacation, but for an overnight stay, it was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinBurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Property: Sand Castle Inn
Address: 1011 Auto Center Pkwy, Seaside, CA 93955-3614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in Seaside minutes from the beach and near all the major attractions Monterey offers. We are only a short drive to the Aquarium, CSUMB, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row and Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing