We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the cheapest and one of the worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the cheapest and one of the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This motel was one of the cheapest option. It cost $68, including tax. We got what we paid. The room was the smallest among the rooms that I have ever stayed. I have never seen such a heavily used bath towel in my life. There were fridge and microwave in the room, which was nice for the cheap motel but the fridge smelled so bad and I didn't want to store food in it. TV worked but we could barely see what it is on the screen. Shawer room is very small. Since this motel is located on the boulvard, there is always trafic noise all day. It was nice that there are some stores and Vietnamien restaurants just accros the boulvard. We didn't feel safe in this motel, some people were screeming and swearing during the night. I would nonetheless come back to this motel if I am alone, because it's cheap but I would not come back here with my wife again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
11
27
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We needed a place in a hurry. Our GPS suggested this Motel. It was the best night's sleep our family of 3 got on our 21 day trip. Very reasonably priced, and a separate bedroom with a queen size bed. Pristine, quiet, and great ocean air.Owner retrieved $1000.00 of camera equipment which was left by accident in a drawer, and refused a tip for his time. If you are looking for a great night's sleep in a very clean and comfortable room without all the fluff, this is the place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Because of Concourse week in Monterey and Carmel, everything is sold out. What’s left are places you would never stay in normally that are charging 4/5 star rates for 1 star places; like this one. The place is old and dirty. The carpet in room was terrible; A/C is called a window open that is if you can get it open. Then once it is open you hear all the sounds of the busy street. Place advertises breakfast which consist of coffee and a few pastries. There is a small refrigerator in room, but no coffee maker or other amenities. No hair dryer (if you need one) and shampoo comes in little tear packets. The towels are something you would buy in a bag of 100 at pep boys to wash your car. If you can’t tell, I was not thrilled with this place, but I guess it was better than sleeping in car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Monteray was totally full so no options other than this Motel. We were warned... And we also told we would be in good company with others desperate for a room. It would have scored higher except for the receptionist who seemed to take exception to us breathing let alone checking in and asking for some help... And the breakfast does not exist
You have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheInformedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

PROS: They allowed me to check in at noon. Free fast wi-fi. Ample free parking.

CONS: The housekeeper uses a shopping cart from Target to hold her cleaning supplies. The road noise is loud. Ask for a room not next to the road. Small rooms. Bed is hard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mikethern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Gateway Lodge is next to the Thunderbird Gateway. It was clean and nice. We would stay again, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

So when we arrived we had no expectations at all since the reviews here before hasn't been that good. But now, sitting in the hotel I'm plesantly surprised. They changed their settings on the TV just to help me see tonight season premiere of Breaking Bad. That's service I don't even expect at a 4 star hotel. Prepare for an allright motel that saves you money instead of a hotel in Monterey or Carmel. Breakfast is no more than a muffin, juice and coffee but you have a refrigerator in the room so you can get some complement to that. Don't go here for the pool tough, it's green :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.9 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
1.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Thunderbird Motel

Property: Gateway Thunderbird Motel
Address: 1909 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3128 (Formerly Gateway Lodge Motel)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gateway Thunderbird Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Thunderbird Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing