We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't be back.”
Review of The Pacific Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pacific Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I won't be back.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Pacific Inn several times in the past and been satisfied. My most recent stay in December 2012 was very unsatisfactory. 1. They need to shampoo the carpets which felt slimy in my room. Perhaps allowing pets and smokers is making a difference in their ability to keep the carpets clean. I felt the need to wear slippers at all times. 2. Water was leaking from the toilet in the bathroom and over 5 days it was not repaired. 3. The noise from other guests running through the halls, screaming and yelling and noise from the pool was VERY annoying. I asked three different staff members to ask the guests causing the disturbance to be more quiet but over 5 hrs there was no change. I asked them myself to be more quiet and respectful of others but to no avail. As a business traveler, I will not be back despite a great location and previous positive experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrier222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    206
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
223
158
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Washington, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visit our grandkids every couple months & have stayed here regularly for years. My 1st priority in a hotel room is a comfortable bed & we've always had that at the Pacific Inn! But there are numerous other things that keep us coming back. Wonderful, attentive service from everyone. They really care about your stay there. I much prefer staying in a small, independent hotel rather than a chain. Rates are very reasonable, the rooms are nice - perfect size & very comfortable for 2. The rooms have balconies and being close to the beach we always leave the balcony door open for fresh air. We can walk to the pier and shops easily. Easy driving to local attractions or other shops, grocery etc. Very convenient location. The continental breakfast is just fine with basic choices - cereal, yogurt, a waffle machine and fresh fruit. It's open really early, very handy & again the service is wonderful. The complementary breakfast at a local restaurant is excellent. The new Starbucks coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby is a wonderful addition! There's a nice pool & jacuzzi with comfy chairs to lounge, read a book or even swim. The exercise room is simple and has everything you need. We really enjoy our stays which are consistently comfortable & relaxing. As far as we're concerned this is what a hotel stay should be like - excellent service with thoughtful additions for a travelers comfort. Our kids live in Long Beach but we prefer to stay in Seal Beach & always at the Pacific Inn!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room & we've staying on each floor, either side. Our preference is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review! We are so happy that you had a enjoyable stay. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The rooms are nice and updated. Continental Breakfast is ok. Shuttle service was fine. The driver was very nice. He dropped us off and picked us up at the Long Beach Port. He arrived on time with the shuttle bus. We were a group of 12 and we fit perfectly with our luggage. Would recommend staying there if you are going on a cruise. Parking is included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks Cristina for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that everything worked out for your cruise. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My Trip took me to Denver then on to LA where i stayed in Seal beach... the hotel was great.
staff really nice this hotel is very clean also used the shuttle which is free i never had to wait and if i did this is ok as everyone in the hotel can use this service. i will for sure be staying there again

Room Tip: I booked online and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreoboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your travels to Seal Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms were nice but the.shuttle service from the pier was beyond horrible. We made reservations for a 9:30 pickup but they sent their minivan rather then.their big van to save a.few bucks on gas and.gave our seats to.another couple who had not.made.reservations and made.us wait an additional hour. Don't use these people unless you have two hours to wait for their shuttle. Will not.use.them again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unkwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you Unkwes for choosing The Pacific Inn. I am pleased hear that you enjoyed the rooms during your stay. I understand that you were disappointed with the Free shuttle service offered to all of our guests, for which I apologize. Our shuttle service was already on its way to pick up other guests who had reserved the shuttle in advance when you called to inform us of your needed pickup, which was not reserved in advance as you mentioned above. Our driver took the smaller of the two hotel vans, not to save gas, but simply because the group being picked up only had five guests. When you called to inform us that there was not additional room for you on the shuttle, another van was immediately sent and you were pick around 10am, only 30 minutes after your "reserved" pick up time. This clarification of the actual events that occurred is not meant to discredit that there was a delay in you pick up, but to reveal your actual wait time which has been greatly exaggerated. I understand that any wait time is inconvenient and I am sorry that you had to wait for an additional half hour while other guests at the hotel were utilizing the Free shuttle van. We have created time specific logs to ensure that an issue like this does not arise in the future and appreciate you bringing this problem to the managements attention so it can be fixed. We hope to be considered in the future for your lodging accommodations, now that this issue has been amended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just stayed here for probably the 5th time in the last few years - 2 nights including Thanksgiving - it's our favorite place when visiting our son in Seal Beach. Choices are limited right there in that great little town, but the Pacific Inn offers a decent price for nice rooms, an outstanding location, friendly staff, and an overall old-school small CA beach town feel. Nice complimentary breakfast, rooms are nicely-remodeled and appointed, great pool/hot tub area in the center of the hotel, and parking right on site. Not much not to like....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Pacific Inn. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay in this hotel for one night (October 29th). We had had an unhappy stay at a motel near Disneyland and needed a room for our last night in California. We picked this hotel because of it's proximity to Long Beach, where some of our party wanted to visit the Queen Mary the next day, and to the airport. It had good reviews on Trip Advisor but so had the Anaheim motel that we were so disappointed with, so weren't sure what to expect.

We arrived at the hotel around 6 pm and were greeted by a very friendly girl at the front desk and were promptly told that there was a taco and pumkin carving party going on by the pool and we should feel free to attend. We were travelling with a 10 year old, so she was thrilled. We dropped our bags in our room and headed straight for the pool. Free tacos, tortilla chips, churros (as much as you could eat) as well as soda and beer! We were even encouraged to take any of the refreshments back to our rooms as the party was winding down. Everyone was friendly and outgoing and we had a wonderful time.

Our room was a decent size, the beds were comfortable and I was very impressed with the bathroom. Loved the large walk in shower. Beds were comfortable. Lots of interesting reading material about Seal Beach. Nice TV (though I rarely watch much TV on vacation). A desk and a laptop stand made it easy to work on some paperwork that I had brought with me. Free Wifi in the room as well a computer and printer in the lobby.

The only thing I would request if we return would be a room away from the pool. We weren't disturbed by noise this stay but I could see that there might be potential for it.

We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, willing to answer all our questions and to take the time to chat with my granddaughter as she filled them in on many of the details of our trip. There was Starbucks coffe in the lobby as well as cookies and a bowl of small chocolate bars (Halloween treats?) on the front desk.

Breakfast was good, if not great, but, once again, much better than we experienced in Anaheim.

The Pacific Inn is within walking distance of the beach and the Main Street is a charming stroll with unique boutiques and restaurants. Seal Beach itself has a real small town feeling and you forget that you're just off the freeway. I only wish we had more time to explore it.

According to the front desk, it's a 20 minute drive to Disneyland if you're not going during rush hour. We had wanted to be within walking distance of Disney during that part of our trip, but after experiencing a motel near Disney (with unpleasant, unhelpful staff) and the Pacific Inn, with it's charming staff, next time we would stay at the Pacific Inn and do the drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so thrilled that you got to enjoy our taco party! We love when guests get to participate and hopefully you guys left full and happy. For your next stay just ask the front desk about our Hennessey's breakfast passes because it allows two free breakfast at a local restaurant at Main and it comes with your room. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Beach
2.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
786 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
6,005 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 57 in Long Beach
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pacific Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pacific Inn

Property: The Pacific Inn
Address: 600 Marina Dr, Seal Beach, CA 90740-6123
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pacific Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Inn Hotel is located just a few blocks from the water in beautiful Seal Beach, California, one of Orange County’s best kept Secrets. The Pacific Inn offers many of the amenities you may expect at a larger hotel while maintaining the out-going service and attention of a wonderfully appointed boutique hotel. What separates The Pacific Inn from any other hotel is our superior location that makes us unique to any other property within a 20 mile radius. Our 71 newly renovated guest rooms are all non-smoking, featuring high speed wireless internet access, granite entryways and private balconies to enjoy the mild Southern California climate. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which travels anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. And a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served every morning in our breakfast café overlooking our open air atrium pool. Located in the heart of Seal Beach, a pleasant walk takes you to the Main Street shopping district, the Seal Beach Pier and over 30 local restaurants varying from casual to international cuisine. The Pacific Inn prides itself on going above and beyond for all Guests in an effort to exceed expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pacific Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pacific Hotel Seal Beach
Pacific Hotel Seal Beach
Pacific Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing