We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahe

Mahe
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seal Beach Blvd
Description: Welcome to Mahe Restaurant in Seal Beach. Our atmosphere is cool, casual and comfortable. Our amazing kitchen and sushi chefs create a most unique dining experience. Come in and see what we’re all about - we promise you won't be disappointed. Due to limited seating, the sushi bar is first come first served. We will do our best to seat you at your requested table as soon as one is available.
USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Too much food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

All you can eat sushi at the sushi bar is literally all you can stuff into your fish loving face. As always, my eyes were bigger than my stomach but I absolutely tried...and failed to try it all. So, another trip will be required for me to do so. The quality is very very good and the selection matches.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louiefrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not Much To Look At. Steak and Sushi Superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

OK, so you're driving down Pacific Coast Highway on the South Coast of California and you want a good meal. STOP. You've found it. A huge rib-eye steak, bone in, cooked to medium-rare perfection. So many sushi offerings it's hard to choose. It's Wednesday night when Martini's are half price. Try the pomegranate martini, a perfect blend of fruit and alcohol. But, I diverge. The steak was SO big, I could share it with my adult son and it was more than plenty. Came with perfectly sauteed in butter vegetable medley of green beans, baby zucchini, cauliflower and carrots. The garlic mashed potatoes were some of the best ever and I've dined in a lot of cities at many good restaurants. For our sushi appetizers, we chose the grilled eel, yellowtail, and spicy tuna roll, accompanied by plenty of ginger. Very yummy. The seafood selection on the menu is extensive. We'll go back again. Loved the cozy, clubby atmosphere of the restaurant that really says this is not fancy, it's just real good food. Wait staff excellent, attentive, and courteous. Can't wait for the next meal here. It will definitely be before I leave town on this visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaxacaculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've been here several times. I've had there steak and the sushi. Everything is delicious! You have to definitely order the sushi pizza! It's not on the menu, but it's a very delicious appetizer. Great atmosphere and cool bands on the weekend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were given a gift certificate to this restaurant. As newcomers to the area, we weren't sure what to expect. It is a sushi restaurant but has other items as well. Our server was excellent and the food was very good. However, the noise level was so over the top that I don't think we'll return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank peghello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local go to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sushi bar is always a enjoyable dining experience and the dining room is always noisy. Service is attentive and the Sushi chef is always willing to make that special request. Never have had a bad experience and the food - sushi is always top notch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahe also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing