We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place to stay in Seal Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Seal Beach”
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The Ayres Hotel in at 12850 Seal Beach Blvd in Seal Beach, California is a great boutique hotel located right at the 405 and Seal Beach Blvd. Everything about this hotel is excellent from the rooms, to the service, to the location. I have stayed at this hotel probably a dozen times over the past 4 years, always for business travel but I would stay here for personal travel, too.

Description & Amenities: Small, 3 story boutique hotel decorated in a French/European style. Rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms and the most comfortable beds that I think I have ever slept in anywhere! Even better than my home bed (yes, that's kinda sad!). I stayed in a king-sized room complete with poster bed, desk, sofa, coffee table, TV amoire, refrigerator, coffee machine, microwave and hairdryer. The rooms are all in excellent shape with minimal signs of wear. The bathroom area is tiled and includes granite countertops. Lighting in all rooms is ample, a welcome change from many other hotels. Air-conditioning units keep the rooms comfortable and are relatively quiet. High-speed Internet access is free, although not entirely reliable (I've had problems with not being able to connect from time-to-time). The hotel has implemented conservation methods including your standard "rehang your towels if you will reuse" to having to use your room key to activate the room's lighting.

Dining facilities - There is no restaurant at the hotel but a small eating area is available for breakfast, which is provided. Breakfast is continental but includes some hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage and french toast or pancakes. There are restaurants right behind the hotel (fast food type) and across the street (sit down) and a variety of others just down Seal Beach Blvd (including an In & Out Burger at Seal Beach and Pacific Coast Highway...about 2 miles away). Every Monday - Thursday there is a complimentary happy hour with hors d'ouvres and drinks, including wine and beer.

The hotel common area is relatively small but there is a really nice outdoor patio area complete with fireplace with plenty of tables. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool and small fitness center.

Location: The hotel is conveniently located about 20 minutes from Santa Ana airport in Orange county. It's literally at the corner of Highway 405 and Seal Beach Blvd. Convenient access to Long Beach, Seal Beach and Huntington Beach areas, including only a few miles away from the Pacific Coast Highway. Traffic on the side roads in this area tends to not be too bad. The local area is safe. I never feel uncomfortable traveling alone and having to stay at this hotel. There are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby, much within walking distance. For business travelers - there is also a gas station about 1/4 mile away making it easy to refill the rental car tank before dropping off at the airport.

Cost: The hotel room rate is very reasonable. Granted, I get a special rate through my company, but I think the regular rate is still pretty good. Considering you get free high-speed Internet access and complimentary breakfast & happy hour, it's a bargain.

I hope this gives you a good feel for what to expect when you stay at the Ayres. In my opinion, it is the best hotel in the Seal Beach/ Huntington Beach/Long Beach area.

  • Liked — Convenient location, great value
  • Disliked — They never serve bacon for breakfast. Seriously. That's all that's "bad" about this place! :)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chompypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    184
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
271
172
44
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Wow, this place was amazing. The rates are surprisingly affordable. The rooms are very, very clean and classy. The breakfast was decent--a nice warm meal with good ham and fresh fruit. Again it was the room that really impressed me..high ceiling, spacious, comfy bed, stylish European style decor. Remember that you've to put in the card to activate the electricity. I wish Ayres was everywhere so I can stay in their hotels more often. I've to come back here again. You've to experience this place. GREAT EXPERIENCE! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

  • Liked — Nice elegant, superclean room
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seabee247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,450 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 878 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I am used to staying at the Ayres in Laguna Woods, so I was not disappointed with this location in Seal Beach. It is a great hotel for the business traveler and vacationer alike.

The rooms come with a small fridge and microwave. There is a breakfast buffet with tons of hot and cold offerings and they will make egg dishes to order for you. In the evening they have freshly baked cookies and from 5:00 to 7:00 they have a small free happy hour cocktail offering with wine, beer, soda, cheeses, and crackers in the entance lobby.

My room had a king size bed and a full couch (opens to a bed).

It is right off of the Seal Beach Blvd exit of the 405. Long Beach is only 10 minutes away by either the 405 or driving along the coast.

  • Liked — Location and free internet that was fast
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Ayers. At check-in the clerk remembered that I had asked for a quiet room away from the elevators. The room was very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. On the weekends you can even get an omelet of your choice. They have a managers reception during the week with beer, wine and various snacks. And then there was the cookies...
The desk staff was courteous and helpful and the property was well kept up. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

  • Liked — beds and breakfast
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flooby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We picked this hotel because of the good reviews and we were not disappointed in any way...from the friendly and helpful staff to the great full breakfast to the quality of the rooms... we had no problems and enjoyed our 5 days very much.

  • Liked — it was what it nsaid it was
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2AussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

This hotel was absolutely beautiful!!! The rooms were large and spacious, and impeccably appointed. The bathroom was beautiful, it had a nice sofa and coffee table in there. And the beds? They were about the most comfortable beds we'd ever slept on. The linens and down pillows and comforters were SO luxurious! Check in and checkout were easy, and the staff pleasant. Only thing I was surprised at was seeing a $1.00 charge for calling the restaurant across the street to make a reservation. (I thought that was kind of ridiculous). Upon entering the hotel lobby around 5:30, I could smell fresh baked cookies, and saw and empty platter, which was never refilled for the remainder of the evening. Kind of a tease! but I would highly recommend staying at the hotel for comfort, convenience, luxury and a feeling of being pampered.
We got a pretty good deal, and were charged $117.00 for a saturday night!
My only regret (other than not getting to try the cookies!) is that we had to check out early the next morning, and were unable to enjoy their breakfast. But my husband was able to get us a couple cups of coffee from the breakfast room, and it was GREAT!

  • Liked — It was a beautiful hotel and fabulous beds, and very large rooms
  • Disliked — they never replenished the cookie platter, which was empty upon our afternoon arrival
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6boys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews, and we were not at all surprised to find this hotel perfect in every way. The beds are very comfortable, room is spacious and very clean, located in a quiet and good neighborhood, what can we ask for more? Thumbs up!

We will definitely stay here again if we are in L.A.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, confortable beds, down comforters, decorations, everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maximilliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Beach
2.9 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
7.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,855 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Address: 12850 Seal Beach Blvd, Seal Beach, CA 90740-2714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing