We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice but slipping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice but slipping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It seemed that they may be cutting back a little. On the weekends you can no longer get a breakfast cooked to order (eggs over easy or omelet). The scrambled eggs that are available on weekend taste like they are powdered eggs. Mon through Fri they cook to order. Still what they provide is better than most. The beds are comfortable. The location is perfect for us because we visit my aunt, who lives near by, when we are there. There are a couple of decent restaurants nearby. The hallways can be very cool especially right now during this cold spell.

Room Tip: Room on the pool side are quieter and away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Johanna A -

Thank you so much for allowing us the chance to welcome you once again. While I am pleased you found your stay generally comfortable, I do apologize if the breakfast offerings were not up to par. We are constantly reviewing them and will utilize your comments in doing so. We appreciate your candid review and hope you will allow us to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    164
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
242
155
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I came into town for the weekend and decided to stay at The Ayers. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was really good. They had a variety of hot and cold foods. The one complaint I have is the wifi is very slow and hard to connect to. The solution they gave was to plug into the Ethernet. That would work if I had a laptop, but an iPad doesn't have that port.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kelovell -

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. While I am pleased you found the accommodations so comfortable and complimentary breakfast delicious, I do apologize if our WIFI connectivity impeded your stay in any way. When occupancy is high it sometimes causes slower speeds as the bandwidth is being used by many guests simultaneously. I will be sure, however, to pass along your comment to the corporate office for review. We hope you will visit again very soon.

Many thanks,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Good accommodation and nice service. The hotel is not perfectly located but gives the enough distances to South Coast Plaza mall and some Outlets.

Is important to consider that the prices are under the average for the accommodations, is a cheap price for a really good accommodation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Juan V -

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear you found everything in order and so much value in your visit. We are very grateful for your review and hope your travels will bring you to the area again very soon.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I boked a room for myself for one night when my husband had to go to the ER at the end of our vacation. I didn't know how many nights I would end up needing to stay there, but they were very gracious to allow me to add one night at a time. My husband needed surgery and I spent most of my time at the hospital five minutes away and came back to the hotel to sleep. Only caught breakfast once or twice while I was there, but it was good. The staff were helpful when I got lost due to detours and road destruction on Seal Beach Blvd. They were courteous and inquired how my husband was doing. When he was released from the hospital, we stayed together at the hotel for a few more days so that he could rest and heal before driving home to Arizona. The room was very comfortable and clean. I was able to do laundry at the hotel which was a huge convenience as we had not planned to be away from home for so many days. I/we ended up staying six nights in total at the Ayres in Seal Beach and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiwawa4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear chiwawa4556 -

It was wonderful welcoming you recently though the circumstances were clearly difficult for you and your husband. It was our pleasure and duty to do our utmost to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible while you were dealing with this unexpected complication. We hope your husband is recovering well and that the two of you will have the chance to visit again under more positive circumstances.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great hotel. Fantastic staff, nice clean rooms, really good FULL breakfast (not the Marriott type!) Hot tub was sparkling clean and really relaxing. Lots of towels and pool was heated too! Picky Loved the fridge and microwave. Cute sitting areas. Ask to have the outdoor fireplace lit and sit on patio at night. It is awesome.
things on my part. No conditioner or shower gel. Road Construction was rough.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krileykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear krileykat -

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel and for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you. We absolutely strive for "great" so it is fantastic to know you found everything in order and conducive to a comfortable stay. We are currently in the process of reviewing the complimentary toiletries offered and may have some upgrades upon your next visit. We appreciate your recommendation.

Safe travels,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good hotel, friendly staff, good location, walking distance to many restaurants, and short driving distance to the beach. Beds are really comfortable, and the room is very clean. I was there for the 5th time, love it and really recommend it! Very good breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Glu2012 -

Thank you so much for allowing us to welcome you a fifth time! To know we have provided the kind of service and accommodations that keep a guest coming back is just wonderful and we are so grateful for your continued patronage. We appreciate your enthusiastic recommendation and look forward to visit number 6.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love, Love, Love this gem of a hotel in one of my favorite towns, Seal Beach, CA. The interior and exterior are detailed with "Old World European Charm". The rooms are large, very affordable, comfortable beds, yummy breakfast, etc., etc., etc.! Relax at the wonderful garden/pool area. Short walk to restaurants and shops. Take a 3-mile ride to Main Street - Seal Beach and take in the ocean, view of Catalina Island, and walk the pier. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Beach
2.9 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
9.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,994 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Address: 12850 Seal Beach Blvd, Seal Beach, CA 90740-2714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing