We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to Love It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used to Love It”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times. The last time we stayed, it was extremely dirty! My socks were black. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Kelly O -

Thank you very much for your candid review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach. I was so disappointed to learn that your stay with us was anything less than exceptional.

Our hotel is known for its unique European-inspired decor as well as our friendly service and cleanliness. We have a rigorous cleaning process performed by a dedicated and hard working housekeeping team. I am truly sorry if the cleanliness of the hotel did not live up to your expectations or our very high standards. I will be reviewing your comments with the housekeeping team immediately to ensure against anything even remotely like what you describe in the future.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience or distress caused and I hope you will choose to be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    184
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
271
172
44
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thank you for opperating such a first class organization. The Ayers Hotel is one of the best I've ever experienced; from the pleasant (professional) staff at the front desk, to the beautiful room, and the fabulous breakfast, I felt as though I was visiting the home of a close friend. Thank you again.

Rodney Greene
San Diego

Room Tip: Simply stay at the Ayers Hotel, I've never had a bad experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The atmosphere at the Ayres Hotel at Seal Beach was very comfortable and pleasant, with courteous and helpful front desk staff. Our room was spacious, clean and contained everything we needed. Beds were very comfortable, Breakfast was much more than expected -- delicious, good variety, and very filling! The hotel's proximity to the highway made it easier for my family to get to our vacation sightseeing destinations. I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay at other Ayres locations in Southern California.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The staff and the rooms were all fabulous. Breakfast was great as indeed was happy hour. Highly recommended.
Phillip N. Alexander

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of the rooms and all of them are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Had to lug all my bags to my room on a valet cart. Full service?? I don't think so. Boutique Hotel is The W or Kinpton, not The Ayres.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybysts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed at the Ayres for 5 nights whilst on business in Seal Beach.
The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with plenty of seating area and space for clothes etc. Also had good desk with wired & wireless internet for working at. Very comfortable bed.
The radio alarm with iPod doc is a nice touch.
The hotel is right at the junction of I-405, so there is a little road noise.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing out local restaurants etc, there are a couple (not cheap, but very good) directly opposite the hotel.
Overall a great friendly hotel in Seal Beach, I'll be using it again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Traveling to a high school regatta, I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious, comfortable and inviting atmosphere at the Ayres. Rooms were elegantly decorated, plush with spacious rooms. The 2 queen beds were very comfortable with a partition of shutters between for needed privacy. The grounds were well manicured with a beautiful fountain ouside our room, and many places to sit, gather and enjoy the warm 75-80 degree weather in January. Breakfast was more than Continental and fit for our teen Kings; eggs, hashbrowns and sausages kept well stocked, along with coffee, sliced fruits and a bread-bagel-muffin-pastry station, as well.

Before arrival, I requested by email 2 beds. Bill dolan, manager, forwarded to Kelly Phillips, which communicated by email. After a long day of traffic and stressing out in the car I was instantly relieved upon arrival with an immediate check-in by the courteous, Abbey. The room more than exceeded my expectations and a great value... Will definitely stay there again next time we are in town. Thank you Abbey, Kelly and Bill.

Room Tip: Avoid pool area if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbrickroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Beach
2.9 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
7.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,840 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Address: 12850 Seal Beach Blvd, Seal Beach, CA 90740-2714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing