We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood at Eaves Seal Beach
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We are an Australian family who travelled the California. We settled for 7 nights in this apartment over the Christmas/ New Year period. The two bedroom apartment was great, we had a full kitchen and the facilities were great, pool, tennis courts. The apartment was a close drive to Huntington Beach, about a 20 minute drive to Disneyland and about 45 minute drive to Universal Studios.
We felt safe whilst staying at this apartment, the parking complex was secure.
I would recommend this apartment to people who require a place that they want to settle for a few days or more away from the tourist areas. You will need a car if you stay here, so you can get around and see the beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selena39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just back from a two week stay at the Oakwood for work. For the same price as a hotel in this area you get a fully equipted kitchen, super comfortable one bedroom apartment with excellent king bed, TVs, stereo, etc. Big pool, jacuz, beach volley ball and tennis courts, cleaners on premises, easy, secure parking. Attentive and professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have been staying in Oakwood Apartments all around Asia and I loved each of one of them. I had the same expectations from this one but it fell short. 10 buildings each with 3 floors with first come first served parking. The infrastructure of the whole property seems great however, the phones, and lights were not working in our apartment. We stayed for 2 nights and didnt like it as much as we liked the other properties. I wish they improved the look of the place. The location was in a peaceful area, close to convenience stores and restaurants. Staff was a little slow at checking us in and solving the hardware issues in the house. Overall it was a little disappointing since we expected a lot more from Oakwood

Room Tip: There is only 3 floors in each building so there is not much you can do about a top floor view but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnirudhJhunjhunwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We are currently at Oakwood for a 10 month period. It's great! They offer furnished or unfurnished apartments for short or longer terms. So our guests can stay here as hotel guests just next to us.

Apartments are of good quality in general. Voices from outside can be heard inside quite well, but we don't mind this. Generally it is peaceful here.

All the outside areas are maintained really well, they are even better than shown in the pictures.The beach is a 10min walk away, so is Seal Beach's idyllic Main Street with many good restaurants + a grocery store. The gym is well equipped. Internet access works well for us.Breakfast is ok, nice atmosphere even though there is a little selection.

Many places of interest in the LA area are quite near - LAX and downtown about a half hour from here, Disneyland about 20 min.

Any problems or questions we have had have been dealt with by the management right away. In our opinion service has been good and friendly.

Ok, if your looking for an original hotel, this is not the place for you. But for good quality living in a safe environment it does the job very well. We were recommended to come here and are really happy that we did.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelmaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Here is what is good. The property is in a good location, you can walk to the beach and a few restaurants. It has about ten 3-story buildings with apartments which seem to be more than 40 years old. They were renovated except the windows and they are well maintained and the grounds are nicely kept with a large swimming pool, tennis court, childplay area etc. There is a security gate around the property. The beds and furniture were comfortable and the kitchen is good. The staff are friendly.

Here is what is not good: It was not easy to book because the staff did not return phone calls and did not respond to my e-mail. We needed a new lightbulb and towls and asked the front desk. They said they would send someone to the unit but they never did. The laundry card system is expensive and not convenient to use. The property had some road noise, it would be worse nearer the edge of the property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of weeks for a summer university program. The location is great. Walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Near bus stops. I didn't need a car. Not something you can often say in Southern California.

On the downside, there was zero charm. Everything was functional but cookie cutter. The free breakfast was inedible, the coffee makers in the apartments were of the American "basket filter" ilk, the laundry card system was designed to rip you off just enough to make you unhappy, the Internet system was annoying, and the overall lack of decor was dispiriting.

If you need something in the area and get a good deal, go, but don't get your hopes up. This isn't the place of hopes and dreams.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cayhorstmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Had read the reviews and was a little sceptical about staying here. No problems, great size condo, clean, all appliances nearly brand new. Clean, quiet. Pool a little cold, but you get used to it. Great place to get out and about from. Right on the marina and very close to Seal Beach. Supermarkets very close by. Need to drive to restaraunts etc, many to choose from close by. Drive to Huntington Beach, you have to experience Surf City. Fantastic laid back place. I even tried surfing, what a laugh! Stay at the apartments if this is the location you need, nothing wrong with them at all

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ________________
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Beach
0.3 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#1 of 3 in Seal Beach
627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
#2 of 3 in Seal Beach
844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,418 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood at Eaves Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood at Eaves Seal Beach

Address: 333 1st St, Seal Beach, CA 90740-5984 (Formerly Oakwood Apartments Long Beach Marina)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Seal Beach
Price Range: $135 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakwood at Eaves Seal Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood at Eaves Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Apartments Long Beach Marina Hotel Seal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing