We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huh?!?!?”
Review of Waki Sushi

Waki Sushi
Ranked #54 of 92 Restaurants in Seal Beach
Cuisines: Sushi
Description: i think you'll find it with the information i provided. it's a GREAT restaurant and they are on facebook too...if you'd like to find them there.
Restaurant details
Description: i think you'll find it with the information i provided. it's a GREAT restaurant and they are on facebook too...if you'd like to find them there.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huh?!?!?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were hanging out in Seal Beach the other day and decided to try this place. The sashimi was very fresh but I was a little disappointed in the rolls. It seemed that 90% of the rolls used the California roll as a base. The crunch rolls if you want anything other than just a plain one are all deep fried to. The tempura was good though as well as the teriyaki chicken. I thought it was a bit on the pricey side too but that's what you get when you go to Main Street. I do have to say that they were very friendly and it was a pleasure to have such great service. They all interacted with our 3 year old even one of the chefs. Don't expect room for a larger party though.

So here is where the Huh part comes in though, This middle aged man can in and asked for a plate of sushi but no shrimp. He didn't even specify what type and he brought his own plate. The staff though went above and beyond to help him out. Great place to people watch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CO151982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Beach
Level Contributor
507 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I enjoy really good Japanese food, so I found this mediocre. That being said, it is probably what most people understand under American-"Japanese." Since most people order rolls or drown their sushi in soy with wasabi, they probably don't notice the watery taste of the slices of fish - the same taste as when it is sliced, refrozen and rethawed. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere pleasant enough, so that brought it up to average in my book. If you're a roll eater, you'll have fun, if you're more serious, you should probably move on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
176 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Got Up and Left”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went in on a Saturday Evening, August 18, 2012 about 6:20p.m. Sat at the bar, older waitress came and took the drink order. Younger waitress came and asked if we had our order taken, older waitress came and brought the drinks and menus. Younger waitress came to check we had our drinks and walked off before we could ask a question.

Mind you, only half the seats were filled in the place and that is only about 40 seats.

We waited and waited and finally got up and left. Obviously they did not want our business.

Also, the bar next to us was dirty with bottles and glasses from the last customer, younger waitress took a couple of items and left the rest.

Couple who came in after us was able to ask questions and order, that is what signalled us to leave.

Total time in the location, about 10-15 minutes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAZTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine Sushi”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Friendly staff, tasty meal (Bento Box), reasonable price; interior not up to the cuisine quality.

Visited April 2012
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing Wacky [about this sushi]”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Waki Sushi is a quaint sushi restaurant in the heart of the Seal Beach "main drag". It has a staff of long time employees who will make an effort to remember your name and preferences. The edamame comes hot with salt. The miso soup is among the better formulations I have tasted in Southern California. The house salad is generous and filled with high end ingredients. The sashimi is always fresh, comes in generous large peices and is artfully presented. The sushi rolls are generous and reasonably priced. Patrons also get a chance to "spin the wheel" for a freebie. We highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waki Sushi also viewed

 
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Waki Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing