We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another favorite”
Review of Malone's Grille

Malone's Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another favorite”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

All meals we had at this establishment have been very satisfying. The food is tasty and plentiful, the staff friendly and helpful, and the patio is very pleasant, especially for lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant variety of dining options”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The food was great; wide selection, well-prepared. Great garlic fries and French dip. One of us also enjoyed the Chinese chicken salad. It's nice to be able to choose between eating outside on the patio or inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnGLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Burger Around”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This steakhouse has been around since 1980, when Scotts Valley was a small town, pre-dotcom boom. Malone’s continues to preserve SV’s pre-silicon wild West feel, and is well known locally for its rollicking bar scene on one side of the wall, and its meaty menu on the other. On Thursday and Friday night, you’ll hear an excellent singer and piano player in the bar (even from the restaurant side), generally accompanied by a host of customers (re: previous review, it's the customers, not the pianist, who sing offkey). If you’re in the mood for a quieter evening, choose another night to visit, or go early.

You cannot find a better, or larger, burger in Santa Cruz county, with Malone’s custom blend of brisket, short ribs and chuck. Steaks are a bit on the pricey side, but my husband thinks they’re worth it. That’s too much meat for me, but I do like the skirt steak salad. We appreciate that they cook the steaks and burgers to order. They don’t overdo them if you ask for rare, and they always cook them right…not just on certain nights with certain chefs. Service is middlin’ to excellent, depending upon the staff.

Don’t expect to find a lot of veggies on the menu that aren’t deep fried. Salads are a good bet, and reasonably priced for what you get. One item that’s not on the menu is a plate of steamed veggies. They’re delicious (tho' don't expect them to be crispy,) prepared with a touch of garlic and butter, and I recommend requesting them if you’re overwhelmed with the fried choices. That said, the coconut shrimp and sweet potato fry appetizers, served piping hot, are tasty choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I really enjoy the food here! In spring and summer you can sit outside on the patio. Tuesdays is lady's night and Wednesday is Wine down Wednesdays. For a small fee you can wine taste outside on the wonderful patio for several hours. The burgers are to die for! Cheers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Malone's for the Bets Burger”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have gone to Malone's three times in the past month and every time the burgers were great. This is the place for a GREAT burger in Santa Cruz county. The flavor is magnificent. It tastes like burgers from 50 years ago with a rich beefy flavor. I've had the gorgonzla burger, bacon cheddar burger and the swiss burger and every one was excellent. Cudo's to Malone's for bringing great tasting burgers to Scotts Valley.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malone's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Malone's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing