We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scotia Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scotia Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Inn is on the National Registry of Historical Buildings and it is easy to see that in its hey day it was quite a grand place to lodge. However, it has lost its appeal. This was our second stay and will be our last. During this stay our room was larger and therefore, very spacious. During each stay the room does not give one the feeling that it is clean. It is not a comfortable room. During this stay the wind made the windows bang all night long. Finally in the morning I investigated (granted I should have checked it while we were still awake) and found that the top window and the bottom window had about a one inch gap. I placed and magazine in that space and it was fixed. However, the other window was still noisy and when I placed another magazine there it fell though to the ground (we were on the 2nd floor). I then realized that the gap was actually open air. This might explain why parking lot conversations sounded like they were in our room. The nice lady who I retrieved from the pub upon check-in stated that each room now has WiFi as of yesterday. Not true! We shared our lack of ability to receive a signal and were told that only rooms 201-209 are able to utilize WiFi. There were only three other guests this time and about the same last time. Why we were given a room that does have WiFi I do not know. I think most of their business these days are from party's. There was a fund raiser auction while we were there and they were very loud, but gone by the time we were ready to sleep. The pub is a good place for a snack, burger, and/or drinks. The lobby is the best indication of it's legendary past-- high ceiling, beautiful logs and wood. The lodge is near Ferndale, a great little Victorian Village. It is close to Avenue of the Giants, which is where we stayed the next night. Our recommendation is that if you are considering this lodge a better alternative is The Benbow Inn. Yes, it is more expensive, but it is also on the Historical list and is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If WiFi is of concern stay in a room between 201-209. Those rooms face the street, but it is pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richruppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped in the town of Scotia for lunch and found the Scotia Inn Pub. It is attached to the Inn and we were able to walk around the grounds. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. It felt like stepping back in time. The lobby was beautiful and we were invited to tour a few open rooms. Unfortunately, we did not have the time to tour, but from everything we saw it was well kept.

The pub was really good food with really big portions. I would definitely go back and recommend this establishment to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Scotia Inn on our honeymoon. We only stayed one night but if we'd had more time there was plenty to explore in Scotia. The hotel is in pretty good condition and lodging included basic breakfast which was a nice touch.
The staff were really friendly and knowledgable about the local beer and wine and helpful when we realised we had left something behind the next day and called to ask them to FedEx it to us.
Overall I definitely recommend it as a place to stay especially if you are after a nostalgic old country hotel feeling with friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Scotia Inn was one of my hotel destinations while driving the Coast Highway 101 / 1.
Scotia is a old logging town just north of the Redwood Forest Drive in CA. and a great place to stay if you interested in getting away from the pace of city life. Although there is little to do in Scotia this is a great place to romance about the legacy of the old logging industry and imagine what life would be like in a "Company Town"
The Scotia Inn has all the history and mystic of he era. They are in the middle of up grading the hotel so you have a choice of newer rooms or the classic historic rooms. I choose a "classic" room, right over the main entrance. The receptionists "favorite room". It was in fact a great room with a view of the main road and "shopping mall" . The room was very spacious and comfortable. Although I was facing the main road I was not bothered by the street noise. I had a great nights sleep and restarted my journey down the coast very refreshed the next day. The great thing was the entrance to the Redwood Forest was only about 30 minutes away.
I ate at the Scotia Inn Pub and had a great local pint and the best Rib-Eye steak I've had in a very long time. It was cooked to perfection and had a wonderful grilled beef flavor. It was accompanied with a house salad - very good and choice of fries or onion rings, Select the onion rings - they were excellent.

Room Tip: If you want to ensure a quite room ask for a updated room in the back of the hotel, otherwise go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrySSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

From the minute Amanda picked up the phone to our check in with Grace the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.the rooms are large an clean. The food in the pub is very tasty an our waiter Cole was prompt an attentive. A very nice historic hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfish1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights on our trip down the coast. The room they put us in first looked out over the kitchen roof and the very noisy kitchen fan. We asked for another room and they gave us a bunch of keys to other rooms to look at. We chose 212 as it seemed the quietest, the bed was comfortable and bathroom a good size.

We heard other guests turning up after us who had not booked , they got a good discount very easily.

Breakfast was basic, but the home made white chocolate scones were outstanding.

Wifi only works in some rooms, but works well in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautiful building. Highlight was having breakfast on the balcony above the beautiful large hotel lobby. Breakfast was better than expected since they call it a continental breakfast and told me scones, oatmeal, & coffee, but they also had fruit, yogurt, and several other items. Only problem was the very messy coffee & cocoa machine. Room was big, nice, and generally clean, but lacked a bathmat and the bathrug didn't look like it was washed between guests so we put a handtowel down on that to step on. Matress was well past its prime. Our room was along the sidestreet, which looked like a parking lot when we pulled in at night, but turned out to be a fairly busy road. I don't know how such a small town generates so much traffic. Very noisy high school kids started arriving for breakfast in the closed pub rather early in the morning so there was a lot of noise outside our window and the nice breakfast area was very noisy too--they should have kept the door closed between the pub & the lobby. I'm glad this historic building is still in use, but it is a little expensive and the noise will be a problem for some. We looked at some of the meeting/banquet rooms and this would probably be a wonderful place to hold an event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotia
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
10.7 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Inn

Property: Scotia Inn
Address: 100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Scotia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scotia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Scotia Hotel Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing