We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick service, great prices & awesome food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsalito Taco Shop

Salsalito Taco Shop
Ranked #21 of 77 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Baja-style mexican with a California Twist! Enjoy outdoor casual dining right across from the water in beautiful Sausalito.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
277 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Quick service, great prices & awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Being the middle of the week there was no one in the restaurant. This ensured that I got lightning fast service. I started with a light beer and a half order of guac and chips. Within 30 seconds my food arrived with much more than was expected. The guac was absolutely mouth watering and came with home made tortilla chips and two different salsas.

I ordered the carne asada and cod taco which only cost 3.75 each. They are pretty big and I probably didn't need the extra side of beans and rice. I ate as much as I could, but I still ended up leaving 1/3 of my order still on the table. Total bill with tip came to $25. Keep in mind that I had a beer, guac, chips, salsa, and two fresh tacos with a side of rice and beans. I will definitely be returning. Maybe next time when its a little warmer so I can do a bit more people watching from their excellent patio overlooking the bay and boats.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    107
    26
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Ive eaten here 3 times, but i will go elsewhere next time. I'd like to pay for an overpriced burrito and margarita when they ate worth it. The $30 pitcher was big but not strong. The big burrito ($12) was the same size as the smaller one. Waiter knew it was and could've cared less. The place will always have business because it's Mexican food. They should change the name to 50/50.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumplingsina, Owner at Salsalito Taco Shop, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to express your opinion, as we always want to hear back from our clients. It seems as though you were becoming a regular client( which we love) because it was your third trip to experience what we offer- thank you! We do try to do things a bit differently perhaps than other Mexican restaurants by offering really fresh flavors with a focus on Free-Range and Natural Meats. Our Burritos, whether "Lil" or "Big" are loaded with fresh ingredients that we prep daily- fresh Mexican rice, Whole Black or Pinto Beans made from Scratch, Salsa Fresca, yummy Crema and All-Natural, Free-Range Meats. You mentioned the Big Donkey Burrito not appearing much bigger than the Lil Donkey. We do clarify when our peeps ask about the two options, that the only difference is the addition of cheese and guacamole in the Big Donkey. And...our Margies are made with Fresh Squeezed Lime juice( no mix ), House-made Simple Syrup and Los Cabos Agave Wine. We make them the way we want to drink them- muy fuerte. But if you need a bit more kick, just ask- we understand. Our goal is to have you smiling when you leave and coming back to visit us. Cheers -we want you to return, relax on the patio and sip on a strong margie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Read about this little spot and we planned our visit on a recent trip to San Francisco. We walked across the Golden Gate and then down a bike trail to Sausalito. After this 4.5 mile walk we arrived at the Taco Shop ready for lunch! We started with a couple of Margarita's and Chips with Guacomole and ended with Fish Tacos which were great! Ranchos Huervos also great, and a Donkey Burrito... all great! Service was friendly. It was worth walking the extra few blocks past the very crowded center of town to find this joint! We then took the ferry back to San Francisco... a great day trip!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We wondered away from the regular tourist strip and found this great little taco shop. Well worth the walk!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“A Can't Miss Taste Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

When in Sausalito CA, don't miss a stop at the "Taco Shop". Their menu will surprise you with its variety of Baja style mexican dishes plus some "special' appetizers and entres that are to die for. They also serve a margarita that will knock your socks off. We always make sure we make a visit there every time we visit Salsalito.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsalito Taco Shop also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Salsalito Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing