We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SF/Sausalito Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SF/Sausalito Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We wanted to visit SF, but not stay there this trip. Sausalito was our first thought and we were not disappointed. Hotel Sausalito is a GEM! Location: center of town, steps from the ferry, delightful/delicious restaurants within walking distance. Includes a daily delicious cup of coffee and pastry of your choise at Tutti's right next door. Spent a couple of days in SF and rented car (Enterprise in Mill Valley. Will pick you up at hotel. great to deal with). Went to Muir Woods, beaches etc. All easy to do from this location. Hotel Sausalito: as I said, it's a GEM! The only room available was the smallest room in the hotel. No, not a view, but.... A well appointed room. Beautiful linens and bedding. Extremely comfortable. Good size bathroom with skylight. Large walk in shower. We would definately stay in this room again. It was a little savings and perfect for our needs. Let me say, the entire hotel is absolutely immaculate. Maintained beautifully. Outdoor space is delightful and peaceful located on second floor with complementary water and fruit. Now for the proprietor, Billy. An absolutely delightful/helpful host. Gabe and Robert were a pleasure to meet and get to know as well. We can't stop talking about our wonderful experience at Hotel Sausalito. We look forward to returning and would highly recommend this fine hotel. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in hotel. No view, but is was well appointed. Beautiful, high end linens, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach5303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    99
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
166
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gogranny60
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I booked this hotel due to it's proximity to the ferries as my husband was in a cast and used a kneewalker to get around. It is the most money iI have ever paid for a hotel room but comparing the prices of the other local hotels , this place was a bargain! At $225.00 a night it was only $25 more than the other priciest hotels I have stayed at and those other hotels couldn't begin to compare to how wonderful this hotel was. We stayed in room 208 on the second floor and there was an elevator to take us there to help with my husbands mobility issues. Both young men at the front desk were there to open the front lobby door for us and offered to take our bags up for us. Our door was just slightly down the hall from the elevator. Upon opening our door we discovered a gorgeous, light filled room with a bay window complete with 2 chairs for gazing out the window at the beautiful garden like park with an ornate large water fountain. When looking in the other direction we could watch the ferries and the bicyclists lining up to get on. We even got to see a lovely blonde model with a small white puppy in the basket of her bicycle while her photographer took photos! The energy of the people was so exciting and interesting to watch from the comfort of our window! I even wondered if any of the criminals in Alcatraz had any of their lovers stay in this hotel since it would have been in service at the time Al Capone and Machine Gun Kelly would have been incarcerated there. Ah the romance and mysteries of on older historic hotel!
The brass fixtures and pineapple motif brass headboard looked as if it may be original to the building. There were peach colored silk comforters on the bed as well as lovely soft linens on the comfortable bed and matching brass fixtures continued in the bathroom as mirror sconces and towel racks. There was a beautiful stained glass window above the glass walled shower. The towels were heavy, thick and fluffy and the water pressure was good. They had the regular toiletries one would find and a hair dryer. Down the hall was a small outside seating area on the roof and in front of that door there was a cupboard that housed the ice machine and held free bottles of water and red apples. Upon check in they give coupons for each person staying in the room to be used at the cafe in the same building right next door. The pastries are freshly made there and are enormous! We got 2 of their strawberry cheesecake danish and they were bigger than a saucer! Simply delicious. We had to leave early in the morning to catch a ferry with the golden gate ferry to get to our Comprehensive San Francisco Shuttle Tours at the Ferry Building. Since we could not take our luggage with us Hotel Sausalito held our bags for us till 6 that evening for no charge! When we did come back for our bags the fellows at the desk were so courteous, kind and helpful. Also because we had left so early in the morning we didn't have a chance to use our coupons for our free pastries. Our tour happened to stop in Sausalito so we were able to use our coupons at the Tutti Cafe after we ate sandwiches there, which were also quite tasty! We got to meet the owner of the hotel when we left in the morning and he is an enchanting and witty Scotsman with his lovely Scottish accent! We will stay again the next time we are in Sausalito!

Room Tip: Even though you are on the main area of the town, by 6:30 the town is pretty quiet and uncrowded. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogranny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel Sausalito is the perfect place to stay! I took the Blue and Gold ferry to Sausalito. The Hotel Sausalito is just steps away from the ferry docking area. My room overlooked the ferry dock and the the garden area. The staff is friendly and helpful. Everything that I wanted to do was walking distance away.Eating breakfast next door at the Cafe Tutti was delightful! Coffee or tea and a bakery item is provided by the Cafe Tutti daily for each Hotel Sausalito guest. Enterprise delivered a car to the hotel so we could see more of this lovely area.Don't forget that Lappert's ice cream is a block away.Dining at The Spinnaker was top notch as well.I can't wait to return to Sauslito!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel Sausailto is perfect in every way! Directly across the bay from San Francisco sits this charming little hotel. Our room had a view of the park and the bay. We rode the ferry into San Francisco each morning. It is based right outside the door. We enjoyed relaxing on the ride back to Sausalito . Each morning we enjoyed pastry and coffee at cafe next door. This is included with your rate. Plenty of complimentary water and fruit also. Parking is only $15 and is also right outside the hotel. Location is within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Can't say enough about staff!! Very friendly and helpful in every way! Will definitely recommend this great hotel to friends. Why stay in the city when one has access to this lil secret!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing park and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smileymamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Hotel Sausalito is located directly in the center of Sausalito, just steps from the ferry to San Francisco and within walking distance of great restaurants. The hotel is different from most, it is what would be considered a "boutique" hotel, no lobby and only 16 rooms. The front desk staff is very courteous and helpful, rooms were very clean and on the small size, reminding me of a typical non-chain hotel in Europe. Parking is available at $15.00 a day at the municipal lot directly across the street and it is billed to your room. We enjoyed this location and used it as our base when going back and forth to San Francisco to sight see. During the evening, the town of Sausalito calms down and is very quiet and peaceful. Would stay at this hotel again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which views the park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We returned to this hotel after having stayed during a trip 5 years ago. The hotel is quaint and the rooms are definitely small, but adequate. We appreciated the walk-in shower in the bathroom, the shaded "community" balcony, and the free bottles of water.

The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants, the public parking lot ($15/day) and the ferry. We used our location as a starting point for day trips up the coast, and to wine country. Be advised, the town is invaded by tourists from about noon-4 or so. Many of the stores and restaurants close by 9:00 p.m. We didn't really find much in the way of "night-life".

The staff was friendly and helpful. We left a few clothing items in our room, and they set them aside for us to pick up a couple days later.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "park view" room, and I think the upcharge is definitely worth it. I walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agw891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The staff had been excellent, the rooms nice and clean, if a little small. We had a nice view of the bay and the park. Breakfast (pastry and coffee) at the cafe next door is included, as is parking in the municipal lot, with in and out privilege. This is important in Sausalito!. The staff is super nice and friendly, and helpful with directions and suggestions. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombrcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $20.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing