We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Hotel in a Special Town….”
Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Special Hotel in a Special Town….”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our first visit to Sausalito, and our first stop seconds after arriving at the ferry dock was the Hotel Sausalito. Our well-kept and impeccably clean room that was reminiscent of days gone by overlooked the park and fountain, but with fine views also of the bay and the people walking along the promenade. We will not quickly forget sipping wine and gazing at the view, a special memory indeed. We loved the city, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff made our stay so memorable and our visit to Sausalito the more magical. We have already decided to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    104
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
171
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

One of the great discoveries that I've made here, and the hosts are wonderful. I'm sitting enjoying the park view out our window just watching the world go by. Breakfast is in the little bakery just below.

Room Tip: Next to the SF ferry and in walking distance to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This boutique hotel is located just across from the San Francisco ferry landing with shops and restaurants surrounding it. The decor is very tasteful and cheery. The staff is funny and helpful. I am looking forward to making another trip to Sausalito and plan on staying at Hotel Sausalito.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Small hotel run by Billy, a wonderful inn-keeper who hasn't lost his brogue, good rooms and beds, a little tired but pleasant furnishings. No bar or breakfast room, but OK coffee and a pastry included at shop next door. If you're visiting San Francisco, want to skip a rental car, and escape to restaurant and gallery laden Sausalito, it's an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Call and let Billy help you. His descriptions are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

First off, I LOVE Sausalito, I will eventually live here someday. This was not my first time in this city but was my first time staying in the city. It was a bit pricey compared to staying on the outside of the city but hey you want the beauty and charm of a city stay there and experience it all. Anyhow, the parking is shared with a big public parking lot in which they give you a dashboard pass to put on your car so no issues with law enforcement. Its pretty close so I'd say a 1-2 minute walk to the lobby. It is a tiny gem of a hotel, so the lobby was small. The staff was very customer service oriented which made me feel better about the price of the room. The room itself was tiny, HOWEVER nicely kept and intimate. It had a very cozy feeling similar to a snuggling up, movie night, in a bedroom with the one you love feeling. Our view was a roof which didn't matter to me and the window was broke, again it didn't matter to me. AC/Heater worked fine TV was small and in a cabinet but it did its job. The bathroom was roomy and had a classy type of feel. The bed was so comfortable which made for a great nights sleep. Checkout was simple and you get to choose a couple breakfast options from the restaurant right next to the lobby, which was very good by the way. It was a intimate and romantic type of hotel. Décor outdated but who's sitting in a hallway anyway when this gem of a city is right outside. The city does shut down early, so just be aware of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaoski808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well what can we say! On arrival we were met by the management team otherwise known as Billy and Gail ( father and daughter ) who are both Scottish! A great duo who really look after you and make you feel welcome. The hotel has a space in front for drop off and pickup use, you park your car opposite in a public car park for which you are charged $15 per 24hrs by the hotel. The hotel is of boutique style with comfortable, pleasantly decorated rooms of which some over look the town square also included in your stay are vouchers for a beverage and pastry to use in the cafe below. The hotel is within 2 min walk for the ferry to San Francisco and the main street where you can find restaurants, shops & art galleries. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and conversations with B&G and would have no hesitation on returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Check in was friendly and easy. Was able to unload car in front of hotel and bring items to room before parking across street for $15.00. Gave parking spot number to hotel and they took care of the rest. Found room of queen size bed overlooking park better than I anticipated. Room was quaint, shower was large, carpet a bit on the tired side. Loved staying here versus last visit staying in San Francisco. The ferry is easy and close. You can't go wrong if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of big city, charming town,reasonable price, but close enough to visit San Francisco by ferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsuhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
465 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $20.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing