We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A romantic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A romantic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our trip to California. It was very unique and had a lot of personality. It's in a great location, right in the middle of town and the hotel staff is very accommodating. Great size rooms and very clean. A nice romantic place to stay. If you ever visit Sausalito, you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
142
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is not the usual sort of place I would stay, but it was good. Like stepping back through time in many respects. Very quaint property in a good central location, with many restaurants around. I would recommend to stay here, I was only there for one night but enjoyed it and would return .

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel Sausalito has a unique, European feel and is perfectly located downtown off the ferry docks. We stayed in a lovely and spacious room facing the main street, which was surprisingly quiet at night (the town pretty much shuts down by 8 pm). The room was very clean and included Bee Kind bath products which were nicer than what I've seen elsewhere. We enjoyed talking to the staff at the front desk, especially Billy who kept us laughing each day. As for parking, there is a lot within steps of the hotel and you can arrange to leave your car there during your stay as it's easy to walk anywhere in town for shopping, dinner, or sightseeing. To keep the European feel going, the hotel provided vouchers for the cafe next door to have a coffee and pastry each morning. We would definitely stay here again and next time would take advantage of its great location near the ferry to avoid driving into San Francisco. All in all this is a great find with quality rooms, service, and a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel and a brilliant location right in the heart of the town and next to the ferry. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The decor is very well done and we loved our stay here a few months ago now. Having stayed in San Fran on a couple of occasions we were keen to stay in Sausalito and we did not regret it one minute, despite the town being very quiet at night which made the choice of food feel a bit limited. The Scottish owner was excellent despite being a Rangers fan and yes, my wife still has the $1 coin, thank you very much. Going next door for breakfast was good and this works well for all guests. Complimentary water and wifi were much appreciated and the team were very helpful in organising the parking over the road which is not any bother at all. Would love to go back and would certainly stay here again, a really great stay which was at the end of a 15 day break and therefore really finished things up well for us both....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wellssimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sausalito the first week of October, 2012. I was delightfully surprised to see how quaint and pretty this hotel was. It met my full expectation and then some. You are steps away from the ferry to San Francisco and you are a block from boutiques, restaurants and coffee shops. This hotel resembles a B&B. We did have some bad luck when the fire alarm went off for two hours from 7:15 pm to about 9:15 pm. But, the owner was there apologizing, and was hands on attempting to disarm the alarm. The firemen and police couldn't fix the issue, either. After working on this for two hours, Billy stayed at the hotel all night, and was chipper working the front desk the next morning! I give him credit for making the best of the situation. He extended a refund for the night's stay. I would stay at this hotel with every visit to San Francisco. It certainly beats staying in the large city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were glad we stayed at the Sausalito Hotel. It was fun to be in the middle of the action and was quiet enough at night . The hotel is not fancy but we enjoyed the location. It reminded me of parts of coastal Italy. We caught the ferry to San Francisco for the day and because we are seniors it was a very good deal. We enjoyed the restaurants and had some very good ice cream. Our favourite restaurant was Pojo's (?) on the main drag, Weird but true; we could not find a magazine anywhere downtown.
Try the hotel. It is more affordable than the few others in town.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quite equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burnabysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel this past weekend. It was amazing they have everything you need from complimentary water to wonderful service. You are steps away from the ferry to San Fran and all the sites in the town. They also give you breakfast voucher to the cafe next door which is amazing! It has great food or breakfast as well as lunch. Great job to the staff for the outstanding cleanliness to the service! I will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovestocamp374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. All rates include a continental breakfast at Caffe Tutti, right next door to the Hotel. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $15.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing