We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The prefect place to stay and relax form the city. Just take the ferry from San Fran Terminal and enjoy the easy going atmosphere in Sausalito. Hotel is grant with very friendly Management and Concierge, pretty and individial rooms and a beatiful view onto Sausalito marina and Belvedere island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are so happy you got to experience the ferry ride from San Francisco. Approaching Sausalito by water is truly a beautiful sight, with Casa Madrona perched on the hill, just a stone's throw from the pier and yacht harbor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Sausalito is a great place to stay when visiting the San Fran area if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's generally, quaint, quiet, and peaceful - you just have to watch out for the bikers. The room was nice enough. The bed was comfortable. I got a room overlooking the courtyard so I did not hear any street noise. The soaking tub was a nice addition to the bathroom.

Room Tip: While the best views face the street (to see the water) I took another traveler's advice and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here recently and there are a few things to note. Firstly, the valet service is invisible when you arrive (and leave) so don't be in a rush. The rooms are pleasant and the harbor view is lovely. Be aware there is no bar. Not a major issue but the places in town close down early so a late evening drink is hard to come by though the cash only bar nearby, 'the bar with no name' is fun and had a great blues band playing the evening we were there.

Overall nothing bad about the hotel but nothing inspiring either and there is more road noise than I had expected

Room Tip: Harbor view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We wish to express your sincere thanks for your notes regarding your recent stay at Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa and would like to apologize for the delay with our valet parking services. Incidents such as this are quite rare, and if a positive side could be found in this, it would be that your input will have helped us sharpen our procedures to improve upon the availability of our guest services crew.

Sausalito is indeed a wonderful hideaway. With fresh sea breezes and a casual but cosmopolitan style, Sausalito is often compared to the Mediterranean Riviera. Beautifully situated on Richardson Bay, the city is a charming blend of vibrant storefronts and artisanal shops in a seaside village atmosphere - and while it is not a 'late night' town (save the Bar with no Name and Smitty's, of course!), we do hope your travels will bring you back to our exceptional community soon.

When it's time to return, be sure to ask us about our brand new upper hillside accommodations - away from any street noise - including wonderfully designed deluxe rooms and junior suites inside our historic mansion as well as numerous spacious cottages with private decks and sweeping views of the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Even though we live near-by in the East Bay, we decided to have a mini “get-away” for our 27th Wedding Anniversary, which happened to fall on the 27th day of the month. We had heard of the Casa Madrona in Sausalito, and we booked a Hillside Cottage with Balcony. It was easy to find, right in town. From the moment we arrived, we felt totally welcomed by the staff, starting with the very friendly valet staff. Yes, they have valet parking, which I gather is not required, but parking anywhere in Sausalito would probably cost just as much and would be more inconvenient. Given the nature of the town, with its tourists and traffic, we turned over the car and just walked everywhere in town.

The front desk was just as friendly and nice, and upgraded us to a Junior Suite in celebration of our Anniversary. The room we had booked was supposed to have a fireplace, but the entire Bay Area was under a “Spare the Air” alert and no fires could be lit. So, it was just as well since we would have hated to have the fireplace and not be able to use it. The Junior Suite had a large, nicely appointed bath, an small entry way and room with a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and closet with safe. There was an adjoining living area with a sofa and table and chairs. Then the bedroom with a king-size,four-poster bed that looked out to a small balcony overlooking the Sausalito Marina and Belvedere Island. The view was not expansive, but pleasant (we are spoiled by our home’s view of San Francisco and two bridges). There was not a lot of privacy as other guests used the stairs outside the room, but a cozy place to open the nice champagne that the hotel gave us in celebration and munch on welcome chocolates.

Wi-Fi was good, there was an elevator if you didn’t want to use the stairs, and staff were consistently friendly and helpful. We did not use the spa or eat at Poggio’s so we cannot comment on them. We did eat at Salito’s (seafood, nice atmosphere on the Marina, we did not care for the food), and Copita’s (a Cal-Mexican small plate place with excellent food and house margarita’s to die for). Salito’s was an easy stroll away, Copita’s was basically next door.

They are working on rejuvenation of the old section that is even higher up on the hill and should have better views when completed.

All in all, a very nice Anniversary – thank you Casa Madrona.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms have better views. Our junior suite was very nice but with a limited view and privacy...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank divegirlelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our guest services team. We truly appreciate the gesture!

Hopefully, we'll have an opportunity soon to introduce you to our re-imagined Casa Madrona as we continue to redefine boutique hospitality in the San Francisco Bay Area. The multimillion dollar transformation of our historic upper hillside will exemplify innovation, technology, luxury, service and style. Designed to perfection by the award-winning architect team of Safdie Rabines, the unveiling will reveal the top-to-bottom renovation of our Victorian mansion built in 1885, the restructuring and redesign of the Mansion’s 11 rooms including the new, standout 5,000 square-foot Alexandrite Suite and the 1,700 square-food Junto meeting and event space, plus the renovation of our spacious hillside cottages.

Here's to discovering a fresh view of timeless luxury!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I used to live in the city of San Francisco, 20 years ago and thanks to a special offer, I decided with my best friend to indulge one day in Sausalito in order to have the time to do some amazing kayaking, just a short stroll away from the hotel, dine in the next door Italian restaurant, have lunch in one of the outdoor cafés with some great seafood or fish. The hotel does not have its own F&B but is next door to a fantastic Italian - we sat at the bar, served by 2 Italians, making it a perfect combination of US-Italy and almost a trip back to the Genovese Coast. The noise of the street is not as bad despite the vicinity of the road but the sound proofing is good. Unfortunately not twin rooms in the entire establishment but all rooms are very large, and the sofa bed was confortable. The room we got was really large with a little patio with 2 chairs.
Very easy to get with the boat that commute between San Francisco and Sausalito, and most likely by bus. We came by car and there is a parking lot right across or convenient valet parking at much decent prices than downtown San Francisco.

Room Tip: Probably higher up rooms (but there is not elevator) to get away from the street traffic which is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The Flying Fish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was a special visit for our anniversary. The service was exceptional and friendly. The room was fantastic with amazing views. Could not have been a better experience. Great location in the city. We walked all around.

Room Tip: The higher the floor and room number, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CabotLTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

They did a great job remodeling the hillside cottages! But, the inability to adjust the hot water in the showers...not so good. The noise of the street is still disruptive in the early AM and Early PM but the room was very well appointed. The fireplaces need to be Gas! as during the spare the air days (which we couldn't burn during our stay and you pay more for these rooms) you cant burn wood, plus, wood is too smoky in a small environment. View... Fabulous! Staff helpful, but got disconnected trying to get connected to the restaurant downstairs. The shopping I Sausalito is getting really TACKY, Shame! So, location is all about the view as many of the restaurants are high priced for quality (except Poggio's which is downstairs and very good and reasonable for the area, but not a lot of view....

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, then courtyard may be quieter, but the view is great, so pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcknzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

It was a pleasure accommodating you in one of our lower hillside cottages. The restoration of the historic mansion on the upper hillside (including stunning gas fireplaces in the Junior Suites!) is nearly complete and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon and introducing you to a re-imagined Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa in 2014.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,016 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,561 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $300 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing