We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day stay, Sept 4 and 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rented two suites for my mother's 92nd birthday. The suites were very clean and well appointed. The staff was superb and gracious. The location is great and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It would be a great honeymoon destination as well.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking Sausalito and the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words - and cheers to your mom! All of us here at Casa Madrona truly admired her bright and cheerful birthday outfit as well as her sunny disposition.

We hope to see all of you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Casa Madrona over Labor Day weekend. We spent our first night in a room with a beautiful night view of the San Francisco city lights. We couldn't help but admire the amazing finish work within the room - the ceiling and walls were perfectly smooth and clean. We then moved to a larger room (#204) on our second night, because our daughter joined us for the rest of the weekend on a comfortable roll-away bed. That room had its own porch with three chairs and a nice reading nook inside the room. The mattresses and bedding were extremely comfortable, and I loved the spa-influenced bath room. My husband enjoyed the large flat-screen television that swung away from the wall for easy viewing from the bed. I also enjoyed their "Sea to Shore Massage" in their spa. The hotel had a secluded, multi-level courtyard area with seating perfect for lounging in the sun or watching the stars. Their staff was friendly and helpful. We did not pay for the hotel parking and easily found free parking on the street each night, even during a high peak time (pay attention to the street signs). We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: This hotel has a variety of room types. Several rooms have nice outside porches - some have views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlFromUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had 2 nights of luxurious comfort at Casa Madrona last week, choosing one of the Courtyard King rooms on the 4th floor. Even though it was holiday time and the annual art festival was getting underway, the rooms were quiet, the lobby well managed, the staff friendly, helpful and calm, and the street parking plentiful and convenient. Being in the middle of Sausalito, it is the ideal location for gallery browsing, shopping, restaurant and bar hopping or, even heading off to experience wine tasting and gourmet dining in Napa Valley for the day. The affiliated restaurant, Poggio Trattoria, is excellent with indoor as well as al fresco dining available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaza-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

...consider a stay at Casa Madrona. I requested a room with a balcony facing the marina and every morning we awoke to a beautiful view of Tibouron and could watch the fog roll in and out of San Francisco. We were a short walk to the ferries and in the heart of beautiful Sausalito. The staff were very accommodating and most gracious. If you are a coffee drinker make sure you slip next door in the morning to Poggio. My husband had what he declared, "the best massage ever" at the Casa Madrona Spa.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel (with the lovely views) are noisier if you like to have the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSS20133102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful location to visit the Bay area and much more romantic than being in a San Francisco high rise. But the key to success at this property is to research the various rooms as all the older designs are better. The hillside cottages are boutique rooms with fun layouts, great bathrooms and stunning views. If you are in the area the desk has a book of the rooms to view and pick for a future trip.

Room Tip: Go thru the book...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I had two lovely nights at the Madrona, we stayed in a room overlooking the marina. Good views, comfortable bed, and a fireplace. On the down side, there was too much street noise to leave the windows open at night. Very nice and helpful staff. Parking in Sausalito is a nuisance, so just go ahead and hand your keys to the attendant. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. They serve the strongest cappuccino in Marin County.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidaValeMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we lived in SF we visited Sausalito often, but never had need of accommodation. This time coming up from Carmel to the City on business, we decided to stay overnight, and choose Casa Madrona simply because we remembered it being there. Well, it was a superb choice. Everything about the hotel is of the best quality and comfort. The view from the room and the large terrace across to the bay and Angel Island was wonderful, even the traffic on the street below could not spoil it. We needed a wheelchair accessible room, and the bathroom was amazing. I only wish we could have transported it home.
The staff could not have been more helpful, with especial thanks to the cheerful young man who helped us on check out on August 16th; his assistance with the wheelchair and getting into the car was very much appreciated.
We ate at Poggio, because we had seen the restaurant on a local dining program, where everyone raved about the food and the service, and it did in fact live up to that description.
The town was a zoo, more European languages than English on the sidewalks, but just like Carmel, it quieted down in the evening, and in the morning was peaceful and beautiful, while we had breakfast at Poggio.
We have another overnight trip coming up in October and I hope we can include Casa Madrona and room 202.

Room Tip: The only problem, though slight was that the mattress was very soft, which we're not used to and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $309 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing