We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super Hotel in Sausalito” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super Hotel in Sausalito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

First of all your in Sausalito so what's not to love! Second, I love how this hotel is set along the mountainside. I stayed here with my daughter in 2008 and had a great experience. The room was beautiful and well maintained. We used the spa facilities and had wonderful treatments there. I would return to this hotel in the future! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    213
    82
    35
    18
See reviews for
166
574
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were very impressed with the hillside cottage room that we stayed in. Nice modern remodel, lots of windows and good views. The location of this hotel is part of what makes it so special - right in the middle of Sausalito and an easy walk to everything. Friendly and helpful staff too. Very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: hillside cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the loft room with fireplace. It was very cozy and quiet. So easy and convenient to everything too. Hotel could have better internet connections and the cell service is bad. You have to go outside to make calls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lofted Courtyard accommodations.

Sausalito is a wonderful getaway, away from the hustle & bustle of the big city. Cell phone coverage can definitely be somewhat spotty, especially when you are on the hillside of our little resort town, away from the main streets!

You will be happy to know that we recently upgraded our Internet to an MIS service with access, port, and VLAN speeds of 100MB. And, while we do manage bandwidth per occupied guest room, our 24/7 IT support center can modify capabilities based on individual needs - ensuring flawless connectivity in guest and meeting rooms as well as our spa, lobby, and courtyard.

Wishing you a safe & sounds New Year's celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at Casa Madrona twice, and can highly recommend the hillside suites. We had lived in the area for years before staying here, and somehow got the impression from the outside of the hotel that it might be slightly tacky and run down. I don't know about the other kinds of rooms, but that is definitely not the case where we stayed. This is a "hidden" gem tucked up the side of the hill in Sausalito, and these rooms, while right downtown and convenient to every Sausalito attraction, have a fantastic view of the water with floor to ceiling windows and a balcony. They somehow create a sense of privacy and coziness (romantic!). Though just one large room, they are tastefully appointed, with a large upholstered chaise at the foot of the king bed, another chair and ottoman, two desks, a large bar, and entryway. The room feels light and spacious. The bathroom is sensational, very large with huge tub, double sinks, separate huge glass shower, and a luxurious feel. This hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant but is atop an Italian restaurant Poggio, and they serve room service to the hotel from 7am-10pm which worked great for us! There are a ton of fantastic eateries within walking distance, as well as the bay, the ferry to San Francisco, etc.
I did not use the in-hotel spa this trip but did last time, and can highly recommend it.

This boutique hotel has a lovely small lobby with friendly, gracious staff, a separate lounge area with computer and sitting area, and valet parking. I would say the only downside to the hillside rooms is the traffic noise, but that calms completely down at night as Sausalito attracts its action mostly during the day. All in all, for the money and compared to other more pricey hotels in the immediate area, Casa Madrona is a great find, and we will come back every year to our hillside room on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Hillside suites, 4th (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are happy to report that - thanks to a multi-million dollar renovation - "slightly tacky" and "run down" are adjectives no longer associated with our new Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa!

Our intimate Sausalito luxury hotel perfectly blends the amenities of a full-service hotel with the charm of a historic inn and we thank you for your comments on how we provided the perfect environment to experience true relaxation in one of our beautiful contemporary accommodations.

And on your next visit, for ocean-inspired bliss and rejuvenation, don't miss out on the soothing treatments of our completely reconcepted 3,000-square-foot spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved Casa Madrona, The room overlooking the bay was really spacious and gracious, the huge tub was fun, the location perfect, and Wendy behind the desk who greeted us and took care of everything we needed was quite wonderful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. Day one the room was simple elegance but the view was of the fitness center allowing stair climbers to see directly into our room. The accommodating staff moved us to the 4th floor to a corner room with partial views of the Bay and a balcony with seating. Nice upgrade. Staff was friendly and suggested some great local restaurants. Manager also took off a $5 telephone charge since we could not get cell phone coverage in the room or internet access. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the fitness center view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriBella731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a beautiful Thanksgiving weekend with us. Sausalito is definitely one of those destinations where it is easy to "unplug" - and sometimes unintentionally so. As you experienced, cell phone coverage can be spotty at times, and so here at Casa Madrona, we are now including all local calls for our guests.

You will be happy to know that we have also upgraded our Internet service to a total bandwidth of 50 mbps and now offer around the clock guest support to assist with any issues that may inhibit laptop or tablet or smart phone connectivity on public/shared network services (such as adjusting computer/firewall settings).

Wishing you a safe and sound Holiday Season, we are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of Sausalito, just across the street from the ferry terminal. We stayed in a "Hillside Cottage" room on the third floor. The room was on the smallish side - the king bed and a small table were all there was room for. Closet space was modest. However, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and the room had a working fireplace. In addition, the room opened onto a decent sized private deck with spectacular views of the bay.

Despite being on the main street, the room was quiet.

Staff was friendly and responsive to all requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing