We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place to enjoy the beauty of Sausalito and the Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to enjoy the beauty of Sausalito and the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved Casa Madrona, The room overlooking the bay was really spacious and gracious, the huge tub was fun, the location perfect, and Wendy behind the desk who greeted us and took care of everything we needed was quite wonderful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    207
    76
    34
    16
See reviews for
161
548
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. Day one the room was simple elegance but the view was of the fitness center allowing stair climbers to see directly into our room. The accommodating staff moved us to the 4th floor to a corner room with partial views of the Bay and a balcony with seating. Nice upgrade. Staff was friendly and suggested some great local restaurants. Manager also took off a $5 telephone charge since we could not get cell phone coverage in the room or internet access. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the fitness center view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriBella731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a beautiful Thanksgiving weekend with us. Sausalito is definitely one of those destinations where it is easy to "unplug" - and sometimes unintentionally so. As you experienced, cell phone coverage can be spotty at times, and so here at Casa Madrona, we are now including all local calls for our guests.

You will be happy to know that we have also upgraded our Internet service to a total bandwidth of 50 mbps and now offer around the clock guest support to assist with any issues that may inhibit laptop or tablet or smart phone connectivity on public/shared network services (such as adjusting computer/firewall settings).

Wishing you a safe and sound Holiday Season, we are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of Sausalito, just across the street from the ferry terminal. We stayed in a "Hillside Cottage" room on the third floor. The room was on the smallish side - the king bed and a small table were all there was room for. Closet space was modest. However, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and the room had a working fireplace. In addition, the room opened onto a decent sized private deck with spectacular views of the bay.

Despite being on the main street, the room was quiet.

Staff was friendly and responsive to all requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved staying here with my girls before I took them off to college! Vey elegant and so nice to be away from the busy city! Yet just a delightful ferry ride away. You must rent bikes and go ride around that was so fun, you take them on the ferry and ride back across the bridge, very beautiful. Service at the hotel is amazing. Valet park for you, makes it so easy. So clean! Loved it, and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Didn't have a view but the room was so lovely and cozy, and the courtyard right outside lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Sausalito is indeed a beautiful and charming seaside retreat, so close to the bright lights and big city, yet seemingly a world away...

Wishing you safe travels and your girls much success in College - and be sure to visit us again when it's time to take a break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel in Sausalito! Get a room on a high floor overlooking the bay. Traditional interiors with spa quality products. Perfect location just outside of San Francisco and in the heart of Sausalito. I would come back in a heart beat and would easily recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamchrismai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days as a respite from living in big city (SF). Room was big and airy. But, there is very poor reception for cellphones from rooms. May be not their fault but it definitely meant that I had to come out on balcony everytime I called or got a call.
The stay was marred byt false fire alarm that happened in the middle of night (4 am). had to be outside hotel on path until they checked out the hotel thoroughly.
Staff is very competent. I had forgotten my jacket while checking out. They not only located it but
also called me within and hour to make sure I retrieve it. Spa is poor value for the money charged. Am not sure I would go there but then again I am not sure what sort of choices are there in Sausalito. View was ok, the hotel is on the main street facing marina and its parking place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenziWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Your safety and that of our other guests is of great importance to us. While I truly apologize for the fact that you were disturbed during your recent visit, we cannot silence an alarm until we are absolutely certain that there is no danger to our guests. Fortunately, in this instance, the alarm was false, and evacuation was not necessary. We truly appreciate your understanding and wish to extend our sincere appreciation for your kind words about our wonderful staff here at Casa Madrona!

Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to Sausalito - and don't forget to take advantage of the great spa credit offer available only to Tripadvisor reviewers! We'd be delighted to assure a flawless return visit and remain with kindest regards in the interim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On our recent stay we were upgraded from a regular room to a hillside cottage. We had a balcony overlooking the marina and bay. It was beautiful. Bathroom was large and had a huge tub. Use of white and light blue colors was so soothing. Bed was a bit on the hard side but the pillows were fantastic! Will definitely stay here again when visiting Sausalito which we will do often now that we have family in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleravioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing