We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the way this hotel has been redone. Great view, spectacular location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here once about 6 years ago and cannot believe the difference. From the valet to the hotel manager, the staff was great. The re-done rooms are nice as well. The views are great. Can't beat the location either. Right in the heart of Sausalito, yet close enough to catch a Giants game or go to Golden Gate Park. The Spa was also brand new and it is worth every penny as well. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigD420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here July 2 in the brand new renovated rooms and absolutely LOVED it! The room designer did a fabulous job with color and design to create a very upscale environment. The view is to die for...overlooking the harbor and the bay. Our room was one floor above the street and very quiet. The drama that unfolds outside your window on the bay is something to see. The check-in was flawless with a very hospitable staff. The bed was so comfortable and the room had every amenity that you would need. I will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara081448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Other hotels we check out were overly priced. Some of the rooms at The Casa Madrona face towards the ocean and the Poggio Restaurant is right next door. The Winship Restaurant down the street makes a really good eggs benedict and amazing omletes. Overall, the attendants (Porters) at The Casa Madrona are very nice (Juliene, David & Luke) so be sure to say hi. If there are issues with your room the problem is fixed within minutes. My husband and I were very happy with our stay and plan on coming back next year (if not earlier).

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driveforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I spent our 28th wedding anniversary in Sausalito this past weekend. Everything about our weekend were perfect---Sausalito, the weather, dinner at Scomas and our stay at Casa Madrona was wonderful. The staff was friendly and attentive, the newly renovated room with harbor view was perfect. We will definitely come back again, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pytsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

If you stay here, be sure to get a room in the newer building as some of the older buildings are terraced and the only way to get to your room is by going up several stairs. We stayed in a lovely room with a gorgeous posted queen bed and a gas fireplace. The bathroom was lovely if you can believe that, but it was. We were able to get a very reasonable rate for this hotel through hotels.com. Location is great as you can walk to the ferry dock a few blocks away and spend the day in San Francisco. Sausalito is very charming with many artisans and unique shops and good restaurants, too. I would recommend this place, especially for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariannek18360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was our second stay here and it keeps getting better. We had a stunning harbourside room with a comfy bed and a big tub to soak away muscle aches. The location is perfect for walking to some great eats. (We loved CIBO with its organic foods for breakfast/lunch and Fish for dinner serving sustainable seafood--both very casual.) There are some great shops, but the easy ferry ride to San Francisco is the best. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind despite dealing with a major ongoing renovation project. We'll be back in the fall to try out the new spa and one of the newly remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fosterrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the modern side - king bed. The room was large, decorated tastefully, with a nice huge HD TV.
The bathroom was as nice as the one in our suite at the elite Grand Wailea in Maui. Two sinks w granite counter, huge marble shower for two and a tub for two.
The inside courtyard has areas to sit in the sun and read.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
I almost cancelled our reservation after reading the few bad reviews- so glad I didn't!
Almost forgot - there us a nice gas fireace in the room.
The only downside was the other modern ocean view side was under construction. Also- our window opened onto the courtyard level, so that didn't feel safe to leave open.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommaforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $309 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing