We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion? Interesting at Least”
Review of Avatar's

Avatar's
Ranked #20 of 85 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 15, 2019

This is one of two places in the Avatar restaurant empire, with the other being Avatar's Punjab Burritos in Mill Valley. Their tag line is ‘purveyors of ethnic confusions’ which is pretty accurate. The Indian aspect is mostly Indian, the Mexican aspect shows up mostly as tortillas and cheese and then there are things like jerk chicken (?). Ashok, the owner, host, waiter, part time cook and floor show likes to keep things in line. I got tired just watching him for the first 15 minutes. I thought the food was good with fresh ingredients and a 4 out of 5 on my rating scale. My only annoyance was my request of 6 of 10 on the spiciness scale was apparently overruled by Ashok as I think he thought I already looked too flushed to warrant something that spicy. Not worth making a fuss over. The place is tiny so reservations are probably a good idea. If you’re into a dinner experience, they do have a few seats that channel a 60’s dinner with a view of the hard working kitchen staff.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Couple-Santa-Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2019

We ate here every single night for 7 nights, (except they are closed on Sunday so get takeout) and got 4 takeouts for our flights home. It is that good. Ashok and his chefs made us different dishes every night. All vegan and glutenfree. They are charming, professional, and wonderful hosts. Service was always fantastic. So, fellow Vegan Travellers - search no more for fabulous Vegan food! If you are vegan, you know what it is like. Eat here!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roaddog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Indian food with great levels of spice and flavor cooked in a manner that doesn't feel as heavy or unhealthy.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Randhir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

The best thing about this place is the owner - chef. He maintains it a point to go and talk to each customer and offer his recommendations.
He made the conversation so interesting, throwing in quizzes to guess the ingredients in lieu of free food, which of course we couldn't.
In the end he also gave us some free vegetables from his kitchen garden which are not easy to find in US.
Amazing Vegetarian Food. you don't even need to look at the menu, he will take it upon himself to make something new exclusively for u..

This is the art of marketing by winning hearts!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Virtualme_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018

A crowded place packed with tables, food were quite interesting, fusion of indian punjabi X mexican food, quite tasty. But it seems to be a bit over the value, guess it goes with the location.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avatar's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing