We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mexinditalian fusion”
Review of Avatar's

Avatar's
Ranked #29 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexinditalian fusion”
Reviewed October 16, 2016

This is a cozy place with unusual combinations of food. Ravioli and enchiladas with curry filling, salad combinations that intrigue, and a FABULOUS dessert. Will definitely visit again.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank minimuffinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique and flavorful ”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and were immediately greeted enthusiastically by Ashok who promised amazing food and they delivered! We are visiting from AZ so were intrigued by the mix of Indian and Mexican food. It was a nice change and fun to try something different. They have a good kids menu too so that allowed us to try this place while the kiddos were delighted with the typical kid plates. I also liked that they asked how spicy we wanted our dishes, so this was a nice touch! Glad we stopped! Picture is the ground beef enchiladas

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great casual restaurant, by Mill Valley Inn”
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Food was terrific here - loved the soup! Got the impression it's a local favorite. Family run, unique mix - food is delicious. Very casual, not pretentious.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertgroupgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique, tasty, affordable”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

This was my first time visiting Avatar's and I didn't know what to expect. The menu is quite unique and includes pumpkin, sweet potato, and eggplant based dishes along with chicken and lamb. I had the smoked eggplant with curried chicken burrito. The flavors worked well and it had a nice amount of spice. The service was friendly and I would definitely return. The outdoor views are beautiful and we dined outdoors to soak up the beautiful weather.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nvhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Different cuisine. ”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Unusual fare. Very creative. Tastes wonderful. It wants more words from me but I have said all I watched to about this.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank powycommodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avatar's also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing