We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Avatar's

Avatar's
Ranked #29 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We went here because it was suggested in our guide. We were visiting. It a was a wonderful experience. The owner asked us if it was our first time, what we liked, and then... he said, "trust me". So we did not know what we would get! My wife got a vegetarian dish and I got fish. Both were extraordinary. We are only sorry that we were not too hungry to try more things. Prices are, by Sausalito standards, reasonable. Our waiter was the owner, and he was most helpful and very nice. We will come back!

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salvadorb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian Fusion”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Ever had an Indian flavored Enchilada? Well we have and it was amazing! We were treated like royalty, offered samples of everything, and filled to the brim with wonderful flavors. Thank you!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Aweldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feels like a family member who is a great chef”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Love this place! Food is unique and amazing and the owner fun and entertaining. Ignore the review from the Texan. He needs to stay out of CA.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big island hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food EVER!”
Reviewed May 27, 2016

We went here with an Indian friend of ours who loves this place and we let the waiter pick our meal for us. We were not disappointed. Everything was over the top delicious with flavors that I wanted to never end! The vegetable enchilada was incredible and don't pass on the dessert! Worth a trip back to the mainland just to eat here again!

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, but we were a bit disappointed”
Reviewed May 11, 2016

We'd heard rave reviews from several people but found Avatar's to be average Indian food. I don't know how else to put it - it wasn't bad by any means, it just wasn't close to the best Indian food we've every had. Service was excellent, very attentive. However, the place was packed and the servers were sort of frantically moving around the small space, making it not very relaxing.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ebo293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avatar's also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing