We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a family member who is a great chef”
Review of Avatar's

Avatar's
Ranked #20 of 85 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Love this place! Food is unique and amazing and the owner fun and entertaining. Ignore the review from the Texan. He needs to stay out of CA.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Peepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 196 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2016

We went here with an Indian friend of ours who loves this place and we let the waiter pick our meal for us. We were not disappointed. Everything was over the top delicious with flavors that I wanted to never end! The vegetable enchilada was incredible and don't pass on the dessert! Worth a trip back to the mainland just to eat here again!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

We'd heard rave reviews from several people but found Avatar's to be average Indian food. I don't know how else to put it - it wasn't bad by any means, it just wasn't close to the best Indian food we've every had. Service was excellent, very attentive. However, the place was packed and the servers were sort of frantically moving around the small space, making it not very relaxing.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Ebo293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

We left Muir Woods hungry and wanting a nice restaurant in which to relax, share our adventures among the giant sequoias and enjoy a good meal. What a pleasant surprise to land in Avatar's for lunch!
We were a group of 11 with a variety of tastes and special dietary needs and our waiter was most friendly and genuinely concerned with providing exactly what we liked- even if it wasn't on the menu! Special sauces, a variety of combinations, virtually anything any way we wanted! We were all so amazed at how wonderful this restaurant is.
An awesome find!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Mixed reviews! I certainly think the owner's approach deserves a little respect. Few people can do something so well that they can read between the lines and give you something you'll love. However, he didn't hit the nail on the head with everyone. 50/50 with our table. First off, I wouldn't serve grilled broccoli with lamb in a stir-fry style dish with rice and (what tasted like) burned vegetables (our friends). The other dish (my wife had) reminded us more of a Turkish/Armenian Lahmajoun than an Indian dish. It was good, but not what we would expect (which is also good). My dish was great and it tasted like an Indian dish.
I'll definitely be back to try something straight from the menu instead of letting the owner pick for me.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ChatWithMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avatar's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing