We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Valley Burger Company

Napa Valley Burger Company
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We caught the ferry to Sausalito and wandered around the beautiful town looking for somewhere to have lunch. There were many places to choose from but we decided to stop at the Napa Valley Burger Co. The burgers were great, i had the vintage with cheese and bacon which had sauteed onions in wine and my partner had the blue cheese burger, the fries were excellent! Both burgers were full of flavor and cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and attentive.
Well worth stopping here after arriving via the ferry, car or biking the bridge!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshtonGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    282
    54
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ZANY GOOD BURGERS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

As I scanned the zany menu at Napa Valley Burger, I had this image that it was put together when a group of chefs were sitting around doing shots late one night and started playing a game of culinary "Can You Top This?". I mean how else would someone have come up with the idea of a burger topped with Eggs Benedict? Or a beef burger topped with crabmeat? But if you'll forgive me the pun, the ones we enjoyed were insanely good! As were, I hasten to add, the truffle fries with parmesan cheese. Equally crazy on a personal level, was me, a New Yorker for whom burgers always go with beer, washing this one down instead with one of their namesake Napa Valley wines and enjoying it. I mean, everybody "pairs" wine and cheese, right? But who "pairs" wine and cheeseBURGERS?! And let me quickly add that we ain't talking "paties" here. These are good sized burgers. More like "fatties" as in "plus sized" to use the politically correct term.

The only reason I can't give Napa Valley Burger Co. the full 5 stars is because our table service did not match the quality of the food. We chanced to go in there (i.e. no reservation) in the mid-afternoon on a week day, well past the usual lunch hour. We were seated immediately but unfortunately that's where the "immediacy" ended. There were frustrating lags in our service right up through our having to wait to get our check. (I don't mind waiting for my food once the order has been placed if I have a drink to enjoy while I pass the time.) But that aside, there are plenty of eating places along the waterfront in Sausalito. And I'd say that you'd be crazy to pass this one by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PMATT914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great stop after biking the bridge and before you catch the ferry! There are a few tables outside for dinning but I chose to sit inside at the bar. Everyone was friendly and the food was equally as nice! It isn't everyday that you see a burger with jalapeños, Mac & cheese, an egg and all the fixins, so I got it!! It comes with a side salad which was okay. The burger was great and went well with the local red beer :) I also found the wine bottle chandeliers fun. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyeyes99-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The service was subpar but the burgers made up for it. They are a great size so definitely come hungry. Their waffle fries nachos were amazing too.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phantom1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very tasty, reasonable prices and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

After a walk across the bridge and then into Sausalito itself this was a great place to refuel before the Ferry back.

Service and food were excellent and we will go back if we are back before we go home.

This was the busiest restaurant we saw.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Burger Company also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Napa Valley Burger Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing