We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service...”
Review of The Spinnaker

The Spinnaker
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spinnaker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anchor Street
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Bus: 50, 20; Golden Gate Ferry: Red & White Fleet, Blue & Gold
Description: The Spinnaker is located on the Sausalito waterfront offering panoramic views of San Francisco, Angel Island, the East Bay and Belvedere. They serve an impressive menu with fresh seafood and a fine wine selection.
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great service...”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a Holiday party at the Spinnaker. I really enjoyed the food, including a great halibut dish. Would recommend to all...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Your recommendations mean a lot to us, Arizona! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your two cents. I hope you'll think of joining us for another meal soon. Our Halibut is calling your name!

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    409
    137
    72
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent view, great prices, very good food.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved the view...especially in the evening particularly, with lights on the hills and San Francisco across the bay. The food was quite good and it came SO fast. The wait staff was friendly, and professional enough. I was surprised at how reasonable the pricing was. Yes, starting to show some wear, but not bad. Overall, there was a relaxed atmosphere, from the parking attendant to the hostess to the waiter, mot quite as professional or "crisp" as I expected...which might be more comfortable to some, but if I was the owner, I would kick it up a notch in that department. the grounds around the restaurant, at least at night, could use some little sprucing up as well to keep with the initial impression of elegance as one drives up. Overall I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jph2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
There's no better way to enjoy a delicious meal than with our gorgeous view of San Francisco from across the bay. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed it so. Our doors have been open since 1960, and while the years have begun to take their toll, we still feel as though our restaurant inspires nostalgia of good times past! With that said, we appreciate your suggestions and will certainly take them into consideration moving forward. Thank you for your delightful review, we'll look forward to your next meal with us!

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sausalito, CA. restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were there Friday afternoon for lunch. Steve our waiter has been there for 20 years.The food was very good and well presented.The lunch was very reasonable priced. Outstanding atmosphere, not a bad view in the place. The only reason for 4 and not 5 is the place is starting to show its wear.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloomington-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. Steve will be happy to hear your compliments — 20 years is a long time, and we're proud to have such great servers like him around. I hope you'll be joining us for another meal soon! It's always a pleasure to have you come by.

Cheers,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood, excellent service, incomparable view”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Love this restaurant with a versatile seafood menu and killer views. Valet parking helps in always busy Sausalito. Enjoyed perfectly executed petrale sole and rex sole. Finished off the wonderful meal with homemade creampuffs....need I say more? Not inexpensive, but a great value for the quality of the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
You needn't say more — wonderful seafood, excellent service, and an incomparable view is what we pride ourselves on offering! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed dining with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Slow spinnaker”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was the second time we have visited this restaurant.
The location is wonderful, right on the Bay with great views of San Franscisco.
On this occasion the restaurant was very quiet, but it was Hallowen. It did lack a bit of atmosphere, food was good but the service was slow, it was a good job the restaurant was not full as I wonder if they could have handled a full house.
Not a lot to shout home about on this occasion
Graham S
Malvern UK

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Glad you stopped in again during your most recent visit to Sausalito, Graham! It sounds as though your meal did not disappoint, although I'm sorry to hear our service was a bit slow. I'll be sure to address this with the waitstaff so that we're being as attentive and helpful as possible the next time you come by. Thank you for letting me know! I hope you'll think of us again the next time you find yourself by the bay. We'd love to welcome you back!

Cheers,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing