We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Boomerang”
Review of The Spinnaker

The Spinnaker
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spinnaker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 81 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anchor Street
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Bus: 50, 20; Golden Gate Ferry: Red & White Fleet, Blue & Gold
Description: The Spinnaker is located on the Sausalito waterfront offering panoramic views of San Francisco, Angel Island, the East Bay and Belvedere. They serve an impressive menu with fresh seafood and a fine wine selection.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We hadn't been to The Spinnaker since our '84 honeymoon. Our celebration 28 years later did not disappoint; it still delivers memorable dishes and a breath-taking panoramic view of the bay. Seasoned waiters were hospitable, attentive and allowed us to linger until late. A DFW couple who arrived on foot wound up carpooling back to Union Square upon realizing we share mutual friends. Go early or stay longer to explore Sausalito's idyllic shops and sights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We're honored to have been apart your honeymoon back in '84, Karen. It's wonderful to know your most recent visit was just as memorable and impressive. I hope you won't wait so long to come see us again!

All the best,

Jeff, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 716 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We try and go to The Spinnaker whenever we are in the San Francisco area. The view alone is fantastic and worth it, but the food is also quite good. Perfect place for a celebration or just a get together with friends. So far we have only gone for lunch but the sandwiches and luncheon fare have been excellent and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Will continue to make the trip to Sausalito to this unique restaurant with the killer view whenever we are in that area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We're happy to have you as a loyal customer, Patti! It's great to know you always make the time to come and see us. I'm glad our food has never failed to impress! Looking forward to your next meal, our view awaits.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The atmosphere is non-pareil. Located on the waterfront, the views are magnificent. The food is excellent and includes great seafood and vegetarian options. We also go there for the ambience and the service. We are never disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marieke777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Marieke777. I'm so glad to hear you are always impressed with our restaurant on all counts. I'l pass along your compliments to our staff. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,

Jeff, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a nice meal with a fabulous view of the moon rising over San Francisco.
Food was decent enough, staff were helpful, but view was stunning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OriginalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review, OriginalM. I'm glad to hear you had such a wonderful time watching the moon rise over the bay while enjoying your dinner. I hope you'll think of joining us for another meal soon.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our recent visit to the Spinaker was as it was beginning in 1974. It is what it is for a restaurant that leases the space from Saucelito. When one has great views, unrushed service, and the best Caesar Salad (true to its origins) anywhere, what can mor can one ask for. I met Bill McDonald only once about 35 years ago, a true gentleman. I cannot visit the Bay Area without stopping in. Long live the Spinaker!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank max1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We're honored to have you as a loyal customer, Max! It's wonderful to know you've had such an enjoyable experience each and every time you've come in over the past 4 decades! Looking forward to your next visit.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing