We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian restaurant.”
Review of Poggio

Poggio
Reserve with OpenTable
Poggio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Golden Gate and Blue and Gold Ferries both a 5 minute walk away.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very good Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If they have the corn "soufflé" appetizer - get it! So creamy and wonderful. Also had a very nice pasta dish & excellent lemon dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    254
    87
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went with my kids to this fancy restaurant. There were no other kids at the restaurant so I felt a little uncomfortable, although the staff seemed not to worry.

After a long day in SF we only went for a light dinner. For starters we shared a Salumi Misti which is a mix of very nice italian meat. It was really nice.

If you like Risotto I can really recommend the one from the menu. Very good and tasteful.

The price was reasonable and service was okay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very crowded, cost less than $50 for 2 mains and 1 sweet. Service was good. Would have liked to see house wines on the menu rather than just a la carte.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Paloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“about perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

i was in a group of 5 holistic healthcare professionals. We had several appetizers (grilled artichokes with house-made aioli an absolute standout) and entrees shared among us. We all agreed this was one of the best restaurant meals we had eaten in years!

They grow their own herbs and vegetables. The dishes are delicious and inventive without being fussy.

I am a nutritionist and severely responsive to even minute amounts of gluten as were 3 others. The request not only didn't phase them, but they were careful to make sure we all had our food prepared separately to avoid cross-contamination.

We shared the sardines, gem lettuce salad, wild boar sausage, spinaci, rucola, cavolini, and anatra (duck leg confit). I just cannot say enough about this jewel.

I am going back next week for my birthday!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service excellent, delicious menu, exceptional drinks”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a nice open restaurant on the street looking across to the marina. Window doors open to the street when it is warm and you can dine on the sidewalk. Delicious grilled artichoke, meatloaf to die for, wonderful service. Try Eric's Refresher for a cooling drink, most satisfying after a long walk along the piers. Wine menu is solid. The server made a recommendation for a single glass of red that was perfect with the meatloaf. The bread is too good, I ate the whole basket. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrotherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poggio also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing