We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

Barrel House Tavern
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 6/24
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Barrel House Tavern is an inviting waterfront oasis and a lively destination fit for an intimate dinner for two or a celebratory venue for large groups.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile


Based on a local (French) tour guide we visited this restaurant.
The people are very pleasant, service is fast and the food VERY FRESH AND TASTY
My clam chowder was perfect a n d my mother's Caesar salad in her words "perfect"
Add a glass of MUMM (local Napa) and we both enjoyed one of our best meals in the US

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank mpsegan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 736 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019

Expect stunning views from the outdoor dining, especially if you have great weather. Expensive and you could probably say slightly overpriced food but extremely tasty! Fabulous and attentive service.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EFF135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

They advertise the best Happy Hour in Town and that is probably the reason to go.....lunch was only fair and on the expensive side. I guess we paid for the view of Angel Island, the Bay and San Francisco Skyline. Mussels were not tasty, sauce had globs of cream, no nice broth and no bread from dipping. The snapper sandwich was only OK. Fries were soft and flavorless.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

On a busy Saturday afternoon as a walk-in I was pleasantly surprised to obtain an outside table with an amazing view over the harbour towards San Francisco. Lunch was served expediently by attendant and pleasant servers and staff. We enjoyed the Kale Salad and the Half Chicken on Mash.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 892iainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

My wife and I had lunch here on a Friday in early May 2019. We are senior citizens and tourists. We came to Sausalito on the ferry from San Francisco, on a day trip excursion. And it was a wonderful day. This restaurant was a 5-minute walk from the ferry. Lunch was good, but overpriced. We paid $100 for lunch, consisting of 2 cocktails (one with premium booze), a chicken sandwich (very good), a burger (very good), and a side of asparagus (not good, the stems were too big and mushy). We each had fries, but no dessert. So this place is not a good value (you can see we did not order caviar and lobster). But in terms of views, decor, and location, this place is great. We ate indoors and the decor is lovely, bright, airy, upscale and cheerful. The outdoor seating looked to be very desirable, too. We left the place happy, but poorer, and it was a great day in the San Francisco area. We had sunshine all day, in fog city, so I guess I can't complain too much about the price of a lunch.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrel House Tavern also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Barrel House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing