We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal, Terrific Waterfront View, Pretty Good Service”
Review of The Trident

The Trident
Reserve with OpenTable
The Trident is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
NJ-NY
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, Terrific Waterfront View, Pretty Good Service”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Don't let this nondescript building fool you. We had a wonderful meal after having walked over the Golden Gate Bridge and the 2.5 miles (downhill) to Sausalito. We arrived about 2:30pm. No outdoor tables available, so we sat at the long wooden shelf tables overlooking the water (like counter seating in a diner but with a spectacular view)! Staff was friendly and timely. Noticed that many tables were there for quite some time as the diners sat back, had glasses of wine, and enjoyed the ambiance. This is a place where diners lounge, so turnover might be slow at peak times. Food was great - bread and water available only upon request. Not all outdoor seats are in the shade, so might want to bring hat/sunglasses/sunscreen if you are sensitive. Prepare for a relaxed experience and good food. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SayCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    373
    129
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton WA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful view didn't help the food”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

perfect location for great food, maybe they figured they didn't have to because of the view. I had fish tacos and they were over cooked, and no flavor at all. My friends fish and chips were so much better. Service was average, and a bottle of root beer (gourmet or so they said) was $5. Sad to me that the food was not so good, but the view was beyond spectacular

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilysMum0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brought Back Great Memories!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My Dad used to take me there back in the very early 70's. The food is still just fabulous, the views marvelous, and service was wonderful. They even had the old artsy menu framed and on the wall...I remembered it! Prices have sure changed with the times, too. Lunch for two was over a hundred dollars for two, and that was only with 2 glasses of wine...but it was worth it for a special treat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PixiePixels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely views”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a very welcome meal after cycling from San Francisco over the bridge to Sausalito, I had an interesting chicken with Mexican sauce and stuffed pepper, my girlfriend had a burger. We also asked to try just one scallop as we'd never had one before, and the staff were more than happy to bring us one. Views over the bay were lovely, a great restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ballandbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Better View in the World”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Right on the water with a spectacular view of the bay and city. Really fresh and wonderful seafood. Service was prompt and excellent. Highly recommend for the beautiful ride over on the ferry and then a delightful meal and view. All in all, you can't miss with the Trident. You will have a happy experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trident also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Trident? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing