We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time!”
Review of Sushi Ran

Sushi Ran
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Turney & Pine
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We flew in from London that afternoon and drove to our accommodation in Sausalito, then a short stroll to this local favourite. We had made a reservation a few weeks before and were warmly greeted. Waiting staff were knowledgeable, very helpful and friendly. Lovely feel to the place and the sashimi was so fresh and tasty. We had a portion of tempura which was perfectly cooked in a light batter. We were in California for 12 days, eating out each day and this was probably the best meal of our trip. The local wine we ordered was also very good. High standards maintained throughout and a pleasure to be back!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank NinoCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 558 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a convivial dinner with friends here last night. Very pleasant atmosphere. Genuine, personable and knowledgeable servers. A tad stingy on the portions. Above average freshness of the ebi and very good soft shell crab roll.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Tess2010Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Experience a bit mixed. Service was patchy, but very pleasant. Felt that the staff could have been a bit more engaged, both in welcome and explanation. Sushi was very good but, to be fair, the stars of the show were the vegetable dishes (we had mushrooms and cauliflower) and the black cod which we shared. Sake flight was fun.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveRis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

When I first went, perhaps 30 years ago, it was tiny and the Japanese sushi chef seemed to be the owner. Now, it is much larger and in two buildings. The people there at lunch don’t seem to have any Japanese sensibilities but were quite good in serving, making recommendations, etc. It is a friendly place, too. The beverage list seems to have grown to almost unbelievable amounts. I was so impressed I counted all of it and then lost my list. As I remember it, there were over 100 sakes, over 50 wines, perhaps 10 shochus and some beers. The thing that amazes me about that is that sake ages and goes bad quickly, so with so many I imagine any not moving would eventually be sold past their “delicious” date; perhaps that is the reason to take the suggestion of the server about which one to select. The sashimi and sushi are as delicious as ever

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Quite disappointed to make reservations for the sushi bar only to discover they stopped preparing the sushi in front of customers. Now they hand orders to people in the back kitchen. This place use to be popular to watch sushi being made at the sushi bar. Don’t know why they stopped. At over $200 for 2 people with the tip, we will take our love of sashimi and sushi elsewhere. Presentations were good but nothing exceptional. We ordered plain wasabi but got charged an additional $8 for fresh wasabi. We arrived at 5:00 and left at 7:00. Only one other person sat at the sushi bar. It use to be difficult to obtain a seat at the sushi bar but it was a ghost town on a Wednesday night. We will go down the street to Sweet Ginger or enjoy sushi in Mill Valley instead. Don’t know who took over as the owners but they took all the pleasure out of sitting at the sushi bar.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank DebbieG2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ran also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
San Francisco, CA
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Sushi Ran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing