We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food -- great location right on the water!”

Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 6/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #24 of 85 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Salito's has been a long standing part of the Sausalito landscape--Zack's in the eighties, then Margaritaville and most recently Paradise Bay. The new look is fresh, bright and full of casual ambience. Large decks overlook the water and the beauty of the area is absolutely breathtaking. Enjoy one of several refreshing Nick & Nora Cocktail Specials available from the full bar or just have a Cafe du Monde chicory coffee with freshly-made beignets A casual bite or a full-on feast--either one or something in between is the perfect Salito's experience. Signature dishes include: * House-made kettle bread served with Straus butter * Whole roasted Dungeness crab * Sizzling iron-skillets of mussels, shrimp and crab * USDA Prime, prime rib * Seafood specialties * Crab chowder, interesting salads and creative sandwiches Sitting on beautiful Richardson Bay in Sausalito, the blue sky and sparkling water are the perfect setting for an afternoon or evening of dining al fresco at Salito's.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location right on the water .. very good seafood and Prime Rib. We visited Salito's on Mother's Day, and although busy, the staff handled the crowd well, and our food came in a reasonable amount of time, and was hot and very tasty!

Would recommend a visit here if you are in the Sausalito area!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cowhead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix S, General Manager at Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the fantastic review!

We're thrilled you had such a wonderful experience with us! It's outstanding you enjoyed our excellent location with its stunning and breathtaking views. That's what we like to see! We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share those beautiful scenes with you once more!

Have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lunch from the deck was really nice, but this is not a location to have a meal in "good clothes" if you're eating outside. We had to wipe down our chairs a little before sitting, but to be expected since it is outside and off the water. Bugs weren't bad (maybe the time of year had something to do with that). Service was just okay and I guess adequate, but far from outstanding. Very slow (somewhat nonexistent) to ask if we were doing well, if we needed more water, forgot that I specifically asked for lemons, etc. We ordered the dungeness crab that is dripping in oily butter, parsley and garlic. It comes with a side of melted butter as well. For as coated as it was, the flavor really didn't penetrate the shell. We were first time eaters of dungeness crab and let me warn you...it's messier than eating BBQ ribs! Seriously. They don't give you more than just a napkin (you need a full on body bib), but they do bring you wet wipes at the end. By the way, I did finally get my lemons, but from someone else (I hated that my hands smelled of crab and oil)...

Back to the crab, the meat was very tender and we enjoyed it once you were able to extract it from the shell and avoid the shrapnel. I'm not kidding...shrapnel! It was launching at each other, stayed on the meat itself...the shell just breaks into too many little pieces. This meal is not for the average eater.

I don't believe I'd go back and I don't know when I'll take that risk of eating dungeness crab again (sticking to king crab for now). I'm sure there are other locations near the water, but this one was very near to the public parking and to the location we were coming to Sausalito for.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loveumissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix S, General Manager at Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, we appreciate the feedback.

We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that we didn't meet your expectations. Your happiness and satisfaction are important to us so we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward.

We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of sharing with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Took the bus tour to Sausalito and wandered around the town and stopped for lunch here. Certainly do not regret an amazing lunch by the water's edge. Food is amazing, slightly pricey (although what isnt pricey in SF??)

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alisonzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix S, General Manager at Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Thanks for the fantastic review, Alison!

It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much! We love sharing our passion for delicious food with our guests and your praise for our mouthwatering dishes lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing experience!

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Two of us came to this location for dinner, per friend's recommendation. We started with order with two starters and tap water. Probably, we did not order wines or expensive drinks, the servant just disappeared after taking the initial order.
Later, we asked her to add more water, she just showed her water jug with little water, I thought she would come back with more water, but she simply disappeared again, never came back to add water. We waited and waited until we decided to take the check.
The food is just so os and the service is so terrible. A total disappointment! Will never Come to this one again.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shao_c1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix S, General Manager at Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

We appreciate the feedback, Shao.

We're deeply disappointed your experience with us was less than ideal and that our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate you. It's also unfortunate our dishes didn't meet your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard of service so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Never tasted anything like this in my life. I feel sick. We ordered fried calamari and a couple more dishes - we couldn’t finish the food.

Nice views but food is v disappointing. Low quality.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Alpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix S, General Manager at Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Alpooch, we are very concerned to read your review. A member of our team would like to speak with you further about your experience at our restaurant. Do you have a phone number or email address that a member of our team can reach you at in the next few days? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Salito's Crab House & Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing