We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
beagleshnout
Branson, Missouri

Fantastic Place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 13, 2017
The host was the old army hospital when it was Fort Baker. The wood architecture was gorgeous. Accommodations were excellent. Wireless was poor but it is understandable given the location. You will want to take in the beautiful scenery and not be online anyway. This was one of the highlights of my trip to San Francisco. I wish I could live there permanently!!!!!!!
Date of stay: June 2016
Room Tip: The smaller the bunk room the better/quieter.
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$580
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $559
  • Preferred Hotels
    $699
  • Expedia.com
    $559
2.3 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Gables Inn Lobby
Booking.com
$275
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $275
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $275
2.8 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Vio.com
  • Algotels
    $578
  • StayForLong
    $487
  • Prestigia.com
    $558
2.9 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$241
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $241
  • Algotels
    $236
  • Official Site
    $210
4.6 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$359
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $359
  • Tripadvisor
    $359
4.6 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$99
  • Tripadvisor
    $99
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $99
3.5 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$195
  • HIExpress.com
  • Lol.travel
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $195
3.6 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $26
  • Agoda.com
    $26
2.8 miles from HI Marin Headlands Hostel
View more hotels in Sausalito
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
48
41
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
41
15
8
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 116 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

What looks like a haunted house from the outside hides a cosy hostel with female and mixed dorms plus privates. Nice staff, well equipped kitchen and a large living room with tables, games and a piano. The hostel is just a short walk from a beautiful beach.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank TheJourneyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meghan E, General Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you and we're glad to hear you had a nice stay! We are working with the National Park Service currently to update our exteriors so hopefully we won't look like a haunted house forever, but I also think that that is part of our hostel's rustic charm! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

This is a secret place- more foreigners look on a map and visit it because of the location. So few of my native California's have never heard of this well kept secret. I went with another artist and we painted two oil paintings on location. There is a lighthouse called Bonita and is open only on the weekends plus this is where the best view of the Golden Gate is. This time of the year summer it may be foggy, windy and cold. Wear a jacket! San Francisco can have fog in the summer time.

Room tip: There are private room- but this is a hostel type place - bring your own food etc. well worth the value!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianeWittmanPunteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meghan E, General Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thanks, Dianne! What a great reason to come visit! I love seeing people paint in the headlands and I hope your paintings turned out great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Beautiful location, you need a car or a strong pair of legs and a bike. Not easily accessible otherwise. If you want to hike, spend time at beach this is perfect location. I enjoy hostels because you meet people easily, can cook and prepare food in kitchen. It is a budget way to travel, esp. if solo.

Room tip: smaller dorm rooms are quieter
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Pleasant and helpful staff. Dorms, bedding and bathrooms are clean. Great Value in such a beautiful area. Recommend for solo travelers who do not mind sharing dorm with strangers. I have stayed here 3 times now with good results.

Room tip: Get there early in afternoon to choose your bunk
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraSlyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

We rented the Annex for a weekend for our wedding guests. It was the perfect place for our family and friends to be able to spend time together for the weekend. There's plenty of space for everyone, at a reasonable price. It was great to have a kitchen and dining room, we were able to cook dinner and breakfast for the whole group.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meghan E, Manager at HI Marin Headlands Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

We are so glad our Annex worked well for you and congratulations on your wedding! Thanks for sharing your experience and your kind words. It's so great to know we could be there for you on your big day! Congrats again! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews