We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice quick casual lunch place”
Review of Bridgeway Cafe

Bridgeway Cafe
Ranked #31 of 78 Restaurants in Sausalito
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice quick casual lunch place”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a simple restaurant with "normal" american food offering option to people watch. We stopped in the the fish & chips special which was average. The coffee was good and service friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retired_early_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    89
    29
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“NICE VIEWS, SHAME ABOUT THE TABLE SERVICE CHARGE..”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having walked from the Golden Gate Bridge right down into the wee town of Sausalito, we were looking for a nice little place for lunch when we spotted the Bridgeway cafe. Seeing an outside table i thought Ideal for a pleasant view and i did wonder why the outside tables were empty, so we sat down and ordered the special fish & chips for myself, and my wife had the pate on rye bread with chips. And If I'm being honest the fish wasn't that special but my wife's looked pretty good, however it was a beer or two i was really looking forward too after that long walk which went down a treat as it was a really bright warm day for what was a truly spectacular view of the Bay, Alcatraz, Angel Island etc, going back to our lunch i then asked for the bill which was pretty reasonable so on leaving i left a little tip, but to my shock the friendly lady kindly informed me there was a "$9 table service" to which i questioned but was promptly told that was the rules. Needless to say i paid for what i thought was a total rip off which made for a dear spot of lunch as i had already given a $2 tip making this an $11 extra.! Later on back at my hotel in SF the manager informed me he had never heard of this before, and reckoned restaurants just make up the rules to suit over there so beware of outside table service folks, if in doubt ask first. As for this little cafe the service was pretty good with a nice little menu to match, the food looked reasonable too. Judging by the inside tables being full, as for the view outside oh well i suppose we did pay for it in the end and what a beautiful sight it was, especially on a bright sunny clear day like we had..!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“nice place for brunch”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a layover in San Francisco and I begged a friend to take me to see the Golden Gate Bridge. Then we stopped here for brunch before I had to get back on the plane. Nice place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced but good food!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We (a party of 4 adults and one toddler) ate breakfast here this morning. The food was average but the pricing a bit high. I can not recommend based on the pricing. If pricing is not a concern give it a try. Our breakfast for four adults and one toddler was $97.

Helpful?
Thank jimbhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit nervous heading into Sausalito on a late Sunday morning for brunch...thought we might have to wait till dinner to get seated! I had my heart set on Bridgeway--it is facing the San Francisco Bay with a full view of the Golden Gate, Angel Island...it is awesome! We got lucky, clear and breezy day. No wait for a table, fair prices for the neighborhood. Nice selection of Eggs Benedict, huge glasses of fresh squeezed orange juice. Only disappointment was the absence of turkey or soy bacon and sausage--figured Marin County restaurant would offer that! Otherwise a great place for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alicefk91272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeway Cafe also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Bridgeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing