We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

We were in Sausalito for two days and one night. This hotel is right in the center of where you want to be with many restaurants and places of interest in walking distance. A good thing since the parking lot is a bit tight. The hotel is very pleasant as were most of the staff. We had our choice of rooms and we made a mistake as our room got quite warm but you didn't want to open all of the windows as the room was at street level and since the road is steep there you hear engines revving. There is no air conditioning. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The wine and cheese tasting was excellent as was the breakfast. Be aware that they charge $15.00 a day for parking. We would definitely stay there again but would make sure that we got a quiet cool room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    74
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
189
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night for our anniversary weekend and it was wonderful! The hotel upgraded us to a nicer room and gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne! Gables Inn is centrally located and a short walk to all the local restaurants. They had a wonderful happy hour with wine and cheeses. And the breakfast was delicious as well! I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We decided to escape from hectic San Francisco for a night in Sausalito, and stayed midweek at the Gables Inn. Because it was a special occasion, we opted for the Bay View room, and we weren't disappointed at all.

The room:
Huge & spacious, with a massive super comfortable bed (though are all American beds this high off the floor? I'm pretty tall and I could have done with a step up!) from which you can see the San Francisco skyline across the bay. Beautiful! The room also featured a sofa, fireplace, table and chairs in a bay window (with stunning views) and a giant flatscreen TV mounted above the hearth. The room was clean, quiet and well-appointed (closet contained fan, ironing board and robes), though I was surprised not to find any information about the venue or area available in the room. Usually, B&Bs and hotels provide at least something notifying you about when breakfast is served, and check out time etc.

The bathroom was teeny, but clean and with a jacuzzi bath.

The service:
A little vague, but very friendly: the wine and hors-d'oeuvres in the evening were very pleasant, and breakfast was a relaxed buffet - not the most expansive or luxurious breakfast you'll ever receive, but ample.

BTW, we couldn't get hotel WIFI to work in the room, but it was fine down in the main breakfast room/lobby.

The area:
Located just around the corner from the main street in town, but right in the heart of things, the inn has a great location. Not too much passing traffic, and the older style of building makes the inn feel more authentic and part of the town than the other purpose-built hotel. On the ground floor next to the inn (at least next to the entrance to the building we were in) there are a couple of antique shops and gift emporia, and Starbucks is only about 100ft downhill. All restaurants are within easy walking distance, as is the ferry terminal.

The verdict:
Recommended, especially if you're visiting the Bay area and are keen to have a night of fine dining in a relaxed waterfront location, without needing a car to get there. Definitely worth paying extra for the view - it really is quite magical.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

The location was terrific and you literally step out to the main drag. We stayed in the Laurel room and it was clean, decorated nicely and had a big screen TV and a jazuzzi tub in the small bathroom, and a super comfy bed. IBreakfast was ample with lots of options. have two complaints: The room was very small and had no view. The other issue: Good thing Starbucks is close by because they coffee was not good and they only had powdered creamer which. I was surprised by. All in all, for $175 a night, I didn't feel it was worth it. Next time, I would find another place, or pony up the dough for a view....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachboundkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Loved the Gables Inn .. The location is ABSOLUTELY perfect , you can walk everywhere ... close to town, yet it has the charm and feel of staying at a country inn... a peaceful get-away! The daily breakfast was delicious.. the fresh berries and baked goods.. plentiful! The wine and cheese ,a nightly treat.. great presentation as well! The staff was so helpful.. and made my stay a memorable one..I will definitely become a regular .. the charm of a New England inn... in beautiful Sausalito! Thanks to the incredible staff !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale_AzLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

My wedding was in Sausalito during the summer of 2009. We decided on the Gables Inn for our weekend stay and to accommodate out of town friends and family. This Hotel/Bed and Breakfast is quaint, homey and stylishly decorated with a Restoration Hardware/Pottery Barn feel. We stayed in the Spruce Room. It was well decorated and very spacious. It had a Jacuzzi tub, a big screen TV plenty of closet space and a "peek a boo" view of the San Francisco Bay. I REALLY wanted to give this hotel a 5 star rating..... Unfortunately I cannot.

We booked our rooms almost 10 months in advance with no problem for 3 nights. I was told that the 2 suites with the best view of San Francisco bay (The Bay Room and The Sequoia Room) had already been booked by another party. We had hoped to book the Bay Room for my Father-in-law who was looking to stay a week and The Sequoia Room for our 3 night stay and wedding night. I was disappointed the rooms had been booked but found a similar room with a tiny view. Six months prior to our event, my cousin called to check availability at the Gables to book a room for herself and was told by a man who claimed to be the hotel OWNER HIMSELF that those 2 rooms were in fact available but the staff had been instructed to tell any guests that were booking a room who were involved in our wedding that those rooms had been booked. Because she did not identify herself as attending the wedding, he proceeded to tell her that he thought it was ridiculous that someone would want to get married on a holiday weekend and that he had placed a special hold on these two rooms as they are his nicest and felt that they should go to someone who would appreciate the view more.....He told my cousin that if she was interested in either room that she need only call back the following day and tell the staff that he had given her permission to book it for that weekend and they could call him to verify. He assumed, incorrectly, that she was not a guest of our wedding. She was highly offended by the arrogance of the owner, who obviously discriminated against us for whatever reason and decided to pay a bit more for a beautiful room at The Tides Inn (also centrally located). Apparently there was something about us that the owner did not like but I have no idea what. We were an older crowd and not one inclined to roudy all night parties that would disturb other guests. We pretty much kept to ourselves. I guess It's his hotel and he has the right to service how he chooses but I was a bit shocked because I met the owner in person prior to booking a room and I was very impressed by his pleasant demeanor and interest to assist us in finding alternative routes in the town to avoid busy streets as he was a long time resident of Sausalito. He was personable and I loved the fact that there were a few local residents who were regulars to the evening wine and cheese service. I thought it added real character to the ambiance of the hotel.

Pros:
-Continental + breakfast 8am to 10am. Nice selection of Danishes, muffins, Quiche, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, granola bars, hard boiled eggs, milk, juice and coffee.
-Wine and Cheese Service 5:00pm nightly. Free wine and cheese with decent wine selection and yummy munchies.
-Friendly accommodating staff (Mary is the sweetest)
-A variety of rooms to accommodate different budgets.
-Select rooms with excellent views of the San Francisco Bay.
-Very comfortable Beds with quiet atmosphere for relaxation.
-Free WiFi connection
-Centrally located and within walking distance of all the best parts of downtown Sausalito

Cons:
-Everything seemed to be clean EXCEPT for the carpet. While getting ready for my big day all the girls and I walked around barefoot in the room. No one went outside with bare feet, however we all had to wash the bottoms because they were filthy(EEWW!). Not sure how often, if ever, the carpet gets vacuumed and there were several large stains.
-Saw housekeeping staff as I was getting ready for my wedding and asked if she could return in about an hour to clean our room (at about 12:30). To my great dissapointment, when we returned to the room in the evening, our room had not been serviced and with 5 women getting ready in one room, it could have used a little tidying up so we could return for our wedding night to a fresh room. We wound up putting our breakfast dishes in the hallway and straightening up when we returned....
-No ice or ice machine for chilled champagne
-No way to ring into Hotel Rooms. Prior to beginning our stay, my Father in law and family friends checked in a few days prior and whenever we called the hotel, the front desk could never connect us to their rooms. We were told that the guests could not hear the phone ringing. No explanation of this being a temporary situation that needed to be resolved was given. Staff just accepts that guests can't receive incoming calls. We left several messages that were mixed up and given to the wrong person. If this is a permanent situation then a better message service should be in place.
-limited parking with $15 a day charge. There were approximately 6 spaces for 15 rooms with no mention on the website of the daily charge and nothing was mentioned at the time of booking either. We were told about the daily charge only after we checked in.... One has to wonder if it was due to the arrival of our bridal party.

Overall the hotel was enjoyable. However, I'm not sure if I would stay again. For the price of the rooms, cleanliness should be more of a priority. Although, this could have been just the luck of the draw for us as none of the other guests from our party had issues with the cleanliness of their rooms.

If you are looking to book a wedding in the area and would like accommodations for out of town guests, I would probably recommend the Gables Inn. However, it's best not to mention it to the hotel staff if you need more than 4 rooms, especially close to a holiday. Have each party call to book their own reservations as the hotel owner does not like to book out more than 4 rooms to 1 party.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimitraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We really enjoyed our one-night stay at this bed and breakfast. We received a complimentary upgrade to a room with a veiw of the San Francisco skyline. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The service was even better. When we went downstairs for the wine and cheese happy hour, the hostess filled a tray with homemade hors d'oeuvres and a bottle of wine for us to take back to our private balcony overlooking the city. A perfect, relaxing stay in Sausalito.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing