We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Know How To Treat Their Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,121 helpful votes
“They Know How To Treat Their Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is our second stay here, and hopefully not our last. I can't say enough about the staff here at The Gables. From the email correspondence before we booked until checkout, the customer service was outstanding. We stayed in the Buckeye Room last time and the Cypress Room this time. The rooms are similar and share a patio with a view of the bay, which we love for quiet time.
Little touches are added to every aspect of your stay to make it memorable, from the fresh cut flowers, to the relaxing music, to the fresh fruit and nuts served at happy hour and breakfast. No pre-fab food here. I had mentioned to the staff that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and within minutes of checking in, a special surprise was delivered to our room. You get a sense of genuine friendliness from the staff here, and that is rare in their industry.

Room Tip: Buckeye and Cypress are ground level for easy access from your car, only a few steps from the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    67
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
173
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked 4 rooms for our family to explore San Fran for a few days before our wedding. The inn is very cozy and super convenient to the downtown shops. The entire staff was so friendly and made our family feel at home. We were pleasantly surprised with the evening wine hour and generous spread of cheese, crackers and appetizers. The morning breakfast also had a great selection and we appreciated the fresh fruits and healthy choices. There was always lemon water and coffee in the common area. The rooms were very cozy and I think we'll stay here instead of the city for our future trips. The ferry to SF was a fun way to explore the city without having to drive.

Special thanks to the entire staff for your hospitality. My family will never forget this trip and you helped us get off to a great start.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband daughter her bf and I stayed here a few nights ago. Michael at the front was welcoming, informative about the sites and flavors of the area and just a great person. Our room was clean the bed super comfy and the continental breakfast and wine and cheese time just delicious. We hope to come back here again. Funny after we stayed here we went and stayed in the city and we now wish we had continued to stay here and just visited the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We use to live in Sausalito, what more can i say we LOVE LOVE San Francisco. We are fortunate enough to be able to come back to the city that owns my heart often and we ALWAYS stay at The Gables Inn. The staff is excellent and so warm and inviting. We always stay in the Cypress room and love it. The beds and pillows are so comfy. Breakfast is always fresh, perfect way to start our day. Wine and cheese after a long day, a great time to meet new friends :) It is beautiful little Inn, in a beautiful little city by the bay~

Room Tip: Cypress room has a sweet little patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KansasWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay. Very close to town, excellent breakfast, generous size comfortable rooms.
The staff were very helpful.
We just loved our stay at The Gables Inn.
The wine tastings were certainly a additional bonus,and on the one day when it was a bit grey, to be able to sit beside the fire was great

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Gables Inn was an adorable bed and breakfast located right in the heart of Sausalito. With breakfast every morning and wine tasting every night, we couldn't have stayed at a better hotel. The service was phenomenal and everyone was extremely helpful. Located a 2 minute walk from the ferry to San Francisco, it's in a perfect location, also surrounded by many shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to stay in Sausalito.

Room Tip: Our room (Laurel Room) did not have AC, so if you want AC check on that before you book. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson,Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

One of our favorite places to stay, anywhere is the Gables Inn, in Sausilito, CA. It is beautiful and quite, with very large, beautifully decorated rooms. The bed was very comfortable, and we love the large, claw footed soaking tub. The front desk was fantastic, and accommodated our every need-ice machine location, and wonderful fruit, cereal, breads at breakfast. we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing